Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 18 April 2017
As other reviews state, This book is a very poor counter argument and actually gives credibility to Dawkin's view of believers being delusional. I'm disappointed.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2017
Good service thanks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2012
Author's counter to Dawkins' The God Delusion was not systematicallyl set out, as it needed to be. I've not read Dawkins' book, but McGrath's book was a very bitty collection of swipes at Dawkins' evolutionist position, rather than a careful, step by step put-down (if that could be done) on behalf of the Christian view.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2017
A very disappointing read. I have read many of Dawkins/Hitchens/Harris' books and was looking for a strong counter-argument and a thought-provoking response. However, this did not provide. Poor arguments, even poorer explanation and understanding. I must say, it certainly shows the intellectual gap between theists and atheists.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 August 2011
Written as a response to "The God Delusion", this slim volume should, perhaps, have been postponed until it had been edited with more rigour. Its early publication is indicative of the seriousness with which its author views the previous publication and the likelihood of its being taken seriously. Additionally, McGrath is usually a clearer thinker than he appears in this unconvincing text.

"In the `God Delusion', Dawkins sets out the idea of memes as if it were established scientific orthodoxy, making no mention of the inconvenient fact that mainstream scientific community views it as a decidedly flakey idea, best relegated to the margins." (P.43) Just one of the fascinating sentences. Whether one agrees or not, it does seem ironic considering its author.

Sometimes, silence is golden.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 April 2012
In 'The God Delusion' Richard Dawkins takes a scientific approach to looking for evidence of for the existence of a god or gods. Not only does he fail to find any but he also highlights a number of unpleasant characteristics of religion; in particular the Abrahamic religions. In 'The Dawkins Delusion' Alister McGrath responds to this book.

First let me say that Alister McGrath comes across as an articulate and pleasant person; he would make a great dinner guest and I am sure that his conversation would be stimulating and entertaining. His writing style is fluid and easy to enjoy, however, despite these advantages, he still fails to counter Dawkins effectively. He makes a good job of finding fault with the detail of some of Dawkins work but offers no plausible alternatives.

For example Dawkins shows the failings of Thomas Aquinas' 'proofs' of God, McGrath responds by saying that he would not have used these 'proofs' but then fails to put forward any proof he would have used.

I also take exception to the way in which McGrath attempts to brand Dawkis as an 'Atheist Fundamentalist' my reading of Dawkins book was that Dawkins had looked for evidence of gods and failed to find any, his working hypothesis is therefore that there are no gods, if fresh evidence became available I am sure that Dawkins would assess it and develop the best hypothesis to fit the evidence. If this ment accepting a gods existence then I am sure that he would do so.

McGrath is an enthusiastic Christian but does not put forward any case for why he disbelieves in all other gods. It is tempting to say that Dawkins only disbelieves in one more god than McGrath (although I am sure that others must have said this before me). Dawkins has produced a good reasoned argument for his position and McGrath has not.

The Dawkins Delusion is a well written and entertaining book however it lacks content and adds little to the debate.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2017
Summed up perfectly by another reviewer - "Full of ad hominem attacks, and a long sequence of strawman arguments".
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2010
... but what does it say? I didn't get as much out of McGrath's book as I'd hoped. Yes, it is true, Dawkins is outside of his specialist field and this is the kiss-of-death for any scholar but why is he there? He got fed up with being beaten over the head by upset religious people who felt threatened by his work and decided to retaliate - probably not a good move as he now comes over as angry and fanatical. McGrath is quick to point this out but whilst he is proudly proclaiming how he won't stoop to Dawkins level he titles his book The Dawkins Delusion - hmmm. McGrath makes a good point that science and religion being in opposition is not good for anyone and he makes some good points regarding the natural inherence of belief in the human mind (check out Antonio Damasio on this) but he couldn't be bothered to write a long enough book to do any of these themes justice. It makes it look like he thought, "let's bash out 65 pages of big type and let the royalties flood in" Why are Dawkins and McGrath in opposition? Simple, they each have an ego and they are incapable of rising above it just as most people aren't. All very human really.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2016
Maybe a bit defensive, but makes very good points to consider
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2017
McGrath is a solid theologian who also knows his biology.
In a short book he picks out the most obvious holes and inconsistencies in Dawkin's belief system.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)