Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
19
4.2 out of 5 stars


on 31 March 2017
Thanks. Needed it as part of my course
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2010
This book gives loads of gentle advise. It is easy to read and the 'stories' are really helpful. You don't need to do the exercises,you can still learn loads by just reading it as a book. I would recommend it to anyone who is interested in taking services in churches or assemblies in schools.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2012
I have just reached the stage in my carrier where I have started to give sermons and although I am working within the Jewish community and this book is written from the Christian perspective I have found it both useful and entreating.

This is a good general introduction, or aid, to preaching. Basically its core argument is that sermons should be explorations of Scripture. Although the author does take an admittedly broad view of what constitutes an exploration. The other core idea of this book is that the preacher should actually be preaching 'the word of God' and that God has something to say though a particular person and at a particular time.

In addition this book includes more general advice and tips for both the novice preacher and to the more experienced minister who is more used to delivering sermons. An interesting element of this book is a section where Day explores what can be learnt from politicians, stand-up comics, and T.V., many of the practical examples are drawn from the Gospels and from the Book of Acts and deal with the life of Jesus. Nevertheless I found it very useful, additionally this is a workbook and as such it has exercises placed though out more will be drawn out of this text if at least some of these exercises are actually attempted.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2010
This book gives lots of very interesting insights and suggestions. David also expresses this in a very accessible manner. I really enjoy reading this book and expect that I will re-read it often!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2012
Whether you are just starting out or have been preaching for sometime, read this book. It is based on a collection of the seminars given by David Day who was formally Principal of St John's College and Cranmer Hall, Durham and as the title suggests is intended as a workbook. This format allows him to ask the reader some probing questions or introduce points of reflection. It offers a wealth of ideas on how to improve your sermons, not for the special events but the regular Sunday by Sunday sermons that are preached. He uses examples from some 50 sermons provided as background research by colleagues in the Diocese of Durham from time to time.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2001
If you're starting out on the road of preaching, and want to get your message across whilst keeping the content interesting, the tips in this small book will prove invaluable. If you've been travelling that road for some time already, and find your congregation have a tendency to stare blankly when you're speaking, perhaps it would be useful for you too ! It's written in a very informal, relaxed and humorous style, designed to explode the myth that sermons are always boring,pompous and irrelevant, by making sure that yours aren't ! A must-have for every preacher's bookshelf.
0Comment| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2011
I was captivated by what others had said and was not disappointed, this book deals with it's subject matter in a fair and open way. It speaks of traditional styles of worship but has a fresh feel to it. For those just setting out on the journey as a preacher and for those who have been journeying longer, I think this book has a lot to commend it, which will enhance and inform your preaching.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2012
This is an up to date, easy to read manual for anyone involved in preaching or public speaking. It is crammed full of good ideas and sensible suggestions. Well worth purchasing and keeping on your bookshelf.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2012
This title recommended to me by a Minister as I undertake a course of study that only the Lord knows where it will take me. Great course, great book!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
I borrowed this book from a friend and it was so useful I had to buy a copy of my own. It is what it says - a workbook, with activities that are intended to help the new preacher and it did just that
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)