Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
24
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 May 2017
Very accessible and though-provoking introduction to modern scholarship.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2017
What is the difference between the four gospels, how can you tell one from another and what does it matter? Answers all in this very readable book - highly recommended for anyone who is interested in Christianity :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2017
All as expected - good selling
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
Fascinating book. Enjoyed it very much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I bought this book purely because it was on the list for a course I am attending. I thought, "this will be boring", but I was wrong.

The introduction to the book had me interested from the word go, describing our famous and renowned leader Sir Winston Churchill from four different perspectives. This gets the reader thinking about Jesus. All the gospels vary slightly in the way they talk about Jesus, His life, His miracles etc., and many say that they are contradictory. This book helps to show that four different people can talk about the same person, Jesus Christ, in four different ways, and yet they are talking about the same person.

It is a good book for beginners in the study of the Four Gospels, easy to read yet mind-stretching and offering challenges.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
Written in very accessible language by a leading biblical scholar, this account of the intentions and strategies of the gospel writers marries analysis of the text with the church's traditional symbolism of the authors
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
This is a very good introduction to the gospels. The emphasis is on interpreting the gospels in their own terms as literary and theological works. Historical issues are dealt with in a constructive manner.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2016
What to say! What a tremendous resource. Any budding preachers will be able to gather so many new insights if stuck!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
This is a book that can help the curious, the unsure, the seekers, to find reassuraqnce in (Western) religion.
Inspirational? Sure, if your mind is open.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
Very good book. Helped me during Christian studies course and I'm sure I will go back to it. Thank you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here