Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
38
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 January 2013
I use Tom Wright's commentaries a lot in my sermon research. It helps that he not only explains the Biblical text in terms of its own time but also includes something up-to-date to show it is relevant today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
Purchased this book to help me work through Mark's gospel as part of my daily reading. The book is a great help, providing an outline for my daily devotions as well as some stimulating thoughts. I would recommend this book, together with others of Tom Wright, as a primer for devotions or for basic bible study. It has been refreshing to visit again the gospel and to get a fresh understanding of how Jesus went about His daily ministry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2015
Tom Wright's series "....for Everyone" are a must for all Bible readers, no matter what stage they are at. The background information and clear commentaries bring the narratives to life. I wouldn't be without them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 May 2009
I loved this book. The power and immediacy of Mark's Gospel is well communicated both through the accessible, lively and intelligent translation and through the reflections that follow each passage, drawing from Tom Wright's life and learning.

The revolutionary, contemporary power of the Gospel story is really brought home. I particularly appreciated the underlining of the political as well as the spiritual dynamism of Jesus and his teaching, and the explosiveness of the conflict with the political and spiritual 'principalities and powers' of that time. Time and again Tom Wright also bring home that this revoluiton did not end with Jesus's death, but continues today in resurrection power.

This is no 'idiots guide' to the Gospel, as the title and some of the blurb may suggest, but a book that will appeal to and speak to learned theologians, those picking up Mark for the first time, and those in between.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2009
This book is helpful in getting insights into what Mark's gospel book means, especially in the context of the time it was written in. Really easy to read too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
I love Tom Wright's style and it helps me to understand the gospel more fully. If you are looking for more explanations on the gospel of Mark with modern day examples and application then I think you would find this useful too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 December 2013
"Mark for Everyone" is the latest book that I have read in Tom Wright's excellent series of New Testament commentaries. It is up to the standards of all of the rest of these well written and intelligent books. However I found Mark's gospel to contain very little that wasnt already outlined in the gospels of Matthew and John , so there was a sense of deja vu in reading it to an extent. I would recommend that Christians spend their time reading these commentaries rather than hanging around pro liberal,pro feminist, pro homosexual,world loving churches.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2009
Having a copy of Tom Wright's Bible Study for Everyone on Mark, this book supports this Study and helps one to glean more from the Gospel.
It is special helpful if one is undertaking it on one's own and not in a Group. His comments and writing are so readable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2012
As, the title says, this is Mark for everyone. Not a great theological treatise, but very helpful guide, especially perhaps for lay preachers or teachers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2009
I found this book ideal for my study of St. Mark's Gospel. It's very readable.I would recommend this to anyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse