Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



TOP 500 REVIEWERon 27 May 2012
This book is probably not aimed at the "hardened" hillwalker as most of the walks are reasonably easy and well known, so it isn't breaking any new ground, however as a coffee table book it may well be of interest as a momento of walks done and areas visited. I bought this as a present for a "novice" walker as an introduction to the hobby and having sneaked a peek inside I can say it fulfils this purpose excellently. The maps are clear, the directions precise, the photos exocative and the prose interesting without being patronising. Sure if you want more detailed guides there are many area based ones out there and it's not exactly pocket sized in any case (you could always photocopy relevant pages I suppose) but this book will introduce you to some of the greatest scenic areas in Britain and encourage you to seek out other walks when you visit.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2009
I recently acquired this book and have enjoyed two superb walks. The author has found beautiful locations, each map marks any places of interest, making it easy to know your position along the walk, accommpanied by well written instructions. I would recommend this book and look forward to completing many more walks from this guide.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2010
This is a lovely book to read and plan some beautiful walks. Don't buy this if you want to take it with you as it's a very big book to carry, but definelty worth getting if you want to plan a walk in advance. Both the maps and descriptions are clear. The book on a whole has been designed well. This book could easily be made into smaller books of different areas.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
I bought this for a friend who loves walking to chill out, and he was really excited to receive this. It gives you walks in every county, so that you can travel the country for them, and breaks the walk down into step by step instructions to make it easier for the novice. Really beautifully presented and informative!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
This book does a good service to you: if you don't know where to go, it lists the best places to choose from, covering the whole of Britain. You will surely find many interesting walks in your area or in the area you intend to visit. The author's choice of walks is really clever, and when you pick up one you just have to photocopy its relative page and take it with you. Both maps and descriptions are exhaustive. I have done 4 walks already and I really enjoyed them!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2011
Bought for my brother who likes walking. My sister in law said he was quiet all Christmas Day reading it. There were some lovely walks described with maps and areas of interest to visit. Well worth it
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2010
As with all the nationwide content this book can be on the shelf for ref on weekends away and short beaks
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2015
This is a pretty good selection of walks, with good descriptions of terrain and sights. My main issue is that it would be wonderful if you could take the page out, and take it with you on the walk. AA does this with their AA Countryside Walks of Britain. The book is too cumbersome to carry with you. Maybe a photocopy will work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2009
rather disappointing and lacking in detail. perhaps publisher should have covered smaller area of country with separate books of same size.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
The book is well presented with good photos. But, it is a bit generic and like many other examples of the same thing. You could probably guess half the places listed. But (again) it is worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse