Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 September 2013
I've been lucky enough to go on a course run by the author hence reading the book. It's an excellent, clear and concise summary of lean thinking philosophy and techniques, an approach I've now learnt is far more profound and far -reaching then I had anticipated (I was expecting just a.n.other management book). The author also has a light touch and warmth that make it an easy read. I work in an NHS Trust in a clinical context and have no doubt we can use these techniques and that I'll be returning to this guide as a reference manual for a long time to come.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
This is an excellent book that can claim to be both an introduction and a comprehensive overview of "true lean".
Andy's depth of understanding of the subject and his passion for seeing Lean adopted in its purest form shines true.
I highly recommend it, particularly to those who are rightly sceptical of the many instances of Leans bastardisation in the hands of the misinformed or novice practitioner.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2012
As Ì look at the cover of this book and read the Author Andy Brophy opening statement
If you are looking to Streamline your Organization, Engage your Employees and Create that Competitive edge for your business.

I definitely could relate to that statement in our current Economic times.
As a keen Lean Practitioner of many years I found the Content of the book a refreshing guide to support and help organizations of any size, Small /Medium /Large to plan and execute there own journey which will suit there own Specific needs and Strategic Goals
The structure of the book into Three Key Sections enables the reader to follow in logical order the steps required for Implementing Lean or for the more experience Practitioner the opportunity to Select the key items of the book which best suits them.

Some topics which I found extremely useful were, Lean Culture ,Lean Transformation and the Section on Ideas Management .I think Andy clearly calls out the need for engaging the employees and getting the support of Senior Management before you can ever start such a Significant Cultural Change,but also clearly identifies the gains for any organization can realize from successful implementation.

John Conran Operations Manager (Fujitsu /Hewlett Packard)
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2013
This is a great book for anyone looking to gain an insight into the principles behind Lean management and how to actually go about creating a genuinely Lean culture through provision of a practical generic roadmap that highlights the major milestones and sequence of implementation steps. I wish I had known this wisdom ten years ago. Highly recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2015
Great book, well written by someone who really understands the problems of trying to implement Lean at operational level. This is the type of book where once you have read through, is just as good to revert to for clarification. This book will not be far from my side .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
By coincidence we are engaged in strategic thinking and planning projects in the UK, Ireland, Africa and US - where building a sustainable lean culture is critical to strategic success. The C level teams facing this opportunity must truly buy into the process of going Lean., Therefore they need to truly understand the "how" of the process, the challenges, the "must dos", as well as the outcome.

Brophy's book can be a deep read or fast scan. It is a "how to" book which also explains the principles in simple practical well illustrated style. It did the job for us, the clients have engaged Lean specialist to make it happen, we are happy to know it will accelerate the successful implementation of strategy and transformation.
Paul O'Kelly paul@paulokelly.com
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
Andy Brophy explores a systems approach to business transformation balancing the business case for change with respect for people and in addition he covers a generically proven Lean road map and management system for cultural and process transformation that is necessary for sustaining the gains.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
This book is an essential read for any business looking to raise it's performance through the holistic involvement of it's people. The book concentrates on how all the Lean transformation elements work together as a system, principles, methods and tools, people behaviors and cultural aspects for sustained and enduring success.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
This book by Andy Brophy is a must read and must own for any executive or staff member who is interested in Operational Excellence and excelling in engaging their employees. It covers the complete A to Z of Lean transformation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
This book provides a rock-solid and expansive range of insights on the often omitted management fundamentals of Lean. The author clearly describes the importance of having the right routines to drive the culture change that is so important in delivering the long term results of a Lean transformation. It is as generically applicable from the manufacturing domain to the service industry (including hospitals)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)