Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Truly awful. Don't waste your time reading this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2011
I have not met many entrepreneurs who actually enjoy taking out the time needed to put a proper business plan in place. After all, we could use that time to make some sales calls, think up some new ideas... and the list goes on. However, Vaughan Evans has shown in this excellent book that business planning is not only essential for success but it can also be a whole lot of fun - especially when you succeed in raising the capital you need to start or grow your business.

The book also throws up some strategic insights along the way - I particularly liked the details on building relationships with clients and will be implementing some of the ideas on offshore outsourcing. This book will prove useful for both new and experienced entrepreneurs.

Loxley McKenzie, Managing Director, Colordarcy Investment Ltd - AIPP Awards Winner
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
I bought this book as I was asked to write a business plan in work and as I've never written one before I needed some guidance on where to start.

The book was very easy to follow and I was happy with the format and layout of the plan that I produced following the books guidance.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2012
I like the book: The evolving case study works, the writing style is refreshingly straightforward, and - above all - it provides wise, practical advice.

Gloomy economic times are a good time to be setting up a new business. If you can make it work in this environment then your business is likely to benefit from a competitive advantage when economic growth returns. However, you have to secure finance to set up your business. Whether this your own money or raised from a third-party you need a compelling business case for the investment.

When times are tough, investors will only finance those businesses that they can easily understand and which have a high chance of success. So you need to develop your business case with investors' needs in mind; What do they want to know rather what do you want to tell them?

Just as when you sell your product or service, you have to differentiate yourself AND your business in the minds of investors to raise finance. Simply having a great product or service is not sufficient. This insightful book - rare in its genre - walks you though how to do just this.

This is a book that's well worth reading and having on your shelf even if your business idea is an early dream at this stage.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2011
Having been in the exact position of being asked to produce a business plan and not knowing where to start, Vaughan Evans has produced a book which would have been invaluable to me in realizing my objective without the sweat and toil that I experienced. I like the fact that it is particularly user friendly, setting down the essential preparation before launching into the essentials required for the business plan and finishing with not just advice on the conclusion but also on an executive summary. There is a useful and lively case study on a small hotel/spa business plan that runs throughout each chapter, but it also cleverly extracts the lessons from real life examples that we can readily relate to, from Lonely Planet to LoveFilm, The Beatles to Woolworths. This book is a must for managers and entrepreneurs looking to impress the people that matter - those that will provide the backing, be it your board, your bank manager or an outside investor.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
My view is the same as many others on here already; wish I'd had the book a long long time ago. Vaughn's book is quite simply the best book on business planning, growing etc I went through so many books and had I not found this book, I would have had to take a business course. That in itself is not a bad thing, but redundant if in already practicing the area of interest...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2011
Vaughan Evans' book not only explains what to put in a business plan, but tells you why and how as well. It's written in clear, jargon-free language by an author whose ability to sort strategic wheat from chaff illuminates every page. Business plan writers who put his advice into practice will enhance their prospects of raising funding many times over - and will almost certainly have given themselves a more incisive perspective on their business at the same time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
I'll keep this short. If you are writing a business plan for the first time then you need this book.If you are writing (as I was) a business plan having secured funding for previous ventures you still need this book. It is laser beam focused on getting the right information in front of the right person (your potential backer). I cannot recommend this highly enough.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2011
This latest book is just what we have come to expect from Vaughan Evans. It is excellent, combining his years of business know how with practical common sense. As the title suggests it is a great reference for those contemplating a Start Up or for those looking to move their business into a new growth phase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)