Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
39
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 February 2002
Whether a practicing professional, an academic or a student, this book provides an excellent overall insight into the world of E-Business. Whilst one or two areas do assume some prior knowledge, none the less, the author has provided a succinct and comprehensive coverage of all the major topics and elements that make up E-Business.
There are excellent examples provided to illustrate points made and topics discussed.
The B2B case study that runs throughout the text with self assessment exercises in every chapter for the reader to apply the learning from each chapter is a superb idea and provides the reader with the opportunity to synthesize their knowledge as they progress through the book.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2007
Dave Chaffey's E-Business and E-Commerce Management is a superb text. All the important topic areas are covered in detail, the book is filled with up-to-date case studies, and, perhaps most importantly, is easy-to-read.

The author successfully captivates the reader's attention as they are taken on an information-rich journey, starting with the basics of E-Commerce through to the strategic management of key E-Business functions. The book is ideal for business or IT students who are required to study E-Business as part of their course. Indeed, I purchased the book during my IT degree course and found it indispensable.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2008
Current, relevant and clearly explained. One of the world's leading experts imparts a deep and multi-layered understanding of online trading. Every professional and every student in either business or technology should read this book. It will deepen your understanding of the environment in which technology and business merge.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2009
i am taking a course in hospitality management, at stratford and it has helped me so much, its a bit heavy reading even for my tutor but it tells you what u need to know and it is very factual. there are also many different editions of the book but this is the best. there are no other e business books about at the moment thta are as good as this is.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2011
This is a great book. Been reading it for a year and even though I bought it for a specific module while studying Business Information Systems at master lever, I remember myself going back to it for almost every essay I had to write. It is very useful as it covers a wide range of topics and gives you a good understanding of the modern e-businesses and networked organizations. Although it doesn't go in much detail for each topic (besides, each topic could be a book itself), here you can find explanation about many many terms that you will probaply hear or learn about at work (CRM, ERP, VOIP, ...). So it gives you an understanding of how things work in an e-business environment and when you get the actual job you will go back and say...'Hey..I've heard that before'. Really good book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2009
I bought this book to help me assess a business opportunity. Having been out of PR & markteting for some years I found it facinating and I really enjoyed the interactive work on Chaffey's website. There is a special product key and although I did't think I would use it at first I became totally involved and really enjoyed it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2011
Chaffey continues to produce an excellent book on this subject. Whether as novice or experienced practitioner, there is something for everyone in this book.
As the world chief examiner in E-Commerce for the London Chamber of Commerce International Qualifications I recommend this text book as "core-reading"
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2011
This is not a bad book. There is valuable information in there for anybody interested in doing e-commerce.

The problem with this book is that you have to go through so much agony to actually find the information. It is 764 pages long and could have been really great if a good editor had cut it down to half - or a quarter.

As it is, you have to sift through so much irrelevant content that you will struggle to turn each page and this actually hinders the level of understanding of all the good stuff.

As another reviewer writes, there is just way too much of "this was covered in section X" and "this will be covered in section Y". Too many trying-to-be-pedagogical exercises. Way too many unnecessary words. This book just needs to get to the point.

Add to this that the language is very poor. The book has the feel of an over-ambitious MA thesis with so many references and cross references and so much dreary language that it will make you consider whether you want to get into the world of e-commerce at all.

Finally, it is in dire need of an update. You will find heaps of case studies from the nineties! Yes, nineties. This is more than a decade ago, and a decade in internet-time is the same as a century. Here and there you will find an extremely brief (a few lines) "update" to what has happened between 1999-2010. Say you are looking for something as basic in 2011 as using Facebook in an e-business context. Forget about it.

As for now, it's two stars from me. But with some hefty editing, updating and spicing up of the language, this could actually be a really valuable book. Maybe the 2011 edition will offer some of that.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2012
It is a text book for my studies. It is a good book, but sometimes it is easy to lost the main stream of thoughts. There are many additional information in tables which make the layout a bit difficult to follow.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2008
This is a fantastic book which acts as an Introduction, in depth and wide ranging guide to all aspects of eBusiness.

It looks and reads like a University textbook and that's the beauty of it.
The diagrams of models and processes are colourful and extremely useful. However some of the data it uses in data tables is woefully out of date when trying to describe present trends.

It could have done without the HTML / web design sections that are too big a subject to do credit in this book.

I recommend this book to anyone with an interest on the subject.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)