Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
48
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£38.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 March 2014
Well written book, great detail and easy to understand. Great examples and relevant research are interesting. Great textbook for any student. Worth the purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2010
I am very happy with this book. It was recommended for my class, and it is very well written, extremely easy to understand, but at the same time goes into a lot of detail. This book helped me get through my exams and have been able to use it on a number of different courses.

The book is well presented and has a number of topics that are well covered. Paricularly, theories of personality, intelligence and applied aspects of individual differences. What strikes me about this book is that it builds up your knowledge. It never assumes you've read all the different chapters beforehand (being told to read a chapter before you've read the one you need never helps) and therefore its helpful in terms of not assuming prior knowledge. The authors also take great care in breaking down complicated issues and terms and again not assuming prior knowledge.

Also the book present recent and useful research. This helped with my coursework and my exams and also was very clear to identify the main issues. Overall it is very very readable and splits up each topic into managable chunks. I would strongly recommend this book to other students.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2006
Got this today. Really easy to read and lots of information. Covers two areas in psychology, personality and intelligence which I get taught for two different units in our first and second year on our psychology degree. Good outlines and criticisms of all the major personality theories, so good essay material ;). Intelligence theory and research is always little hard going, this text makes intelligence seem quite straightforward and has again has lots of material that I can use for my essays. Don't plan to use the third part of the book except to read it, but has lots of interesting areas, such as optimism and relationships theory, that I enjoy reading about.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2016
Quick delivery and item as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2009
This book was recommended for my course on personality theory and intelligence, and definitely blew away any alternatives I could find in terms of sheer amount of information. The level of detail that Maltby goes in to is very good for an undergraduate course, and the layout of competing theories based on their relevence to todays literature is very helpful.

As the title suggests, the book covers all of the major theories of personality, with essay-grade critiques of each, but also more information throughout the book that can be used in conjunction with the theories, such as the information on factor analysis and the nature/nurture argument. The section on intelligence is equally detailed, and explains much of what happened in intelligence research over the years. Individual differences are prevalent throughout the text, and we are constantly reminded that they will always play a role in pscyhological constructs.

Overall, this book was a saving grace for the personality module, but I still find myself refering to it time and again in other lectures, as personality and intelligence along with individual differences play a major role in many areas of psychology, and this book is definitely one I wouldn't want to be without.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2008
This book was recommended reading on my course. It was suggested along with a number of other personality books, but is far the better book. The number of topics covered by this book outnumber the other texts, and the level of detail is much greater. I agree with the other reviewer that this text gives the students loads of essay material.

The book covers all the major personality theories, and provides a good critique of each one. The book also covers all the intelligence areas needed. Finally the book covers some more 'current' areas such as optimism, embarassment, social relationships. The book covers in depth all the other areas of the BPS accreditation exam and therefore should be useful on many psychology degrees.

Most of all I found the text incredibly easy to read. The authors cover exciting areas of psychology, but also some of the more difficult areas. For example, there are biological explanations of some behaviors, but the authors don't bamboozle you with technical terms, but rather breakdown the area for you so it is easily understandable. Infact some of the terms I find so hard to understand in biological psychology modules are much better explained here.

There are also hidden depths to this book. There is an online website that has example essay questions, multiple choice questions and further reading. There are additional chapters at the back on argument and a kind of 'bluffers guide' to statistics, which again are better explained than many statistics books.

I do recommend this book. It helped me enormously with my work across a number of modules on my psychology degree not just my personality and individual differences modules.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2010
This textbook is really easy to read and understandable. Theoretical areas are explained well with each area building up logically to its conclusion.

Chapters include:
Personality chapters:
1) Personality Theory in Context; 2) The Basis of Psychoanalytic Approach to personality; 3) Developments of Freudian Theories; 4) Learning Theory Perspectives; 5) Cognitive Personality Theories; 6) Humanistic Personality Theories; 7) The Trait Approach to Personality; 8) Biological Basis of Personlity 1: Genetic Heritability of Personality and Biological and Physiological Models of Personality; 9) Biological Basis of Personality 2: Evolutionary Psychology and Animal Studies of Personality; 10) Further Ideas and Debates in Personality: Personality and Culture

Intelligence chapters:
11) An introduction to Intelligence; 12) Theories and Measurement of Intelligence; 13) The Use of Intelligence Tests: What Questions Emerge from the Measure of Intelligence?; 14) Heritability and Socially Defined Race Differences in Intelligence; 15) Further Discussions and Debates in Intelligence: Sex Differences in Intelligence and Emotional Intelligence; 16) The Application of Personality and Intelligence in Education and the WorkPlace: The Introduction of Other Intelligences

Additional Chapters:
17) Further Debates and Applications in Individual Differences: An Introduction; 18) Optimism; 19) Irrational Beliefs; 20) Embarrassment, Shyness and Social Anxiety; 21) Interpersonal Relationships; 22) Social Attitudes; 23) Well-being and Personality Disorders; 24) Individual Differences in Health and Illness; 25) An introduction to Psychometric Testing.

At the end of each chapter you are encouraged to consider discussion questions, and to review areas critically. There are also recommended books and DVDs to further your understanding within interested areas.
A very informative text for anyone interested in intelligence, personality, and individual differences.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
This is probably the most informative and useful textbook I have ever read; it is easy to read, with helpful diagrams to illustrate key points and theories, as well as providing plenty of additional tools such as historic background on key theorists, discussion points, exercises to complete and practice essay questions. At the end of each chapter the authors also give some suggestions of other resources including books, journals, websites and films relating to each chapter with a summary of how each resource relates to the material in the book. There is also a handy chapter on psychometric testing with tips for developing surveys and using statistical analysis which might be helpful for any students who are new to the study of psychology (unfortunately it was too late for me to make use of this chapter, as a final year student, but I wish this book had been available in my first year). Overall this is an engaging book and quite enjoyable to read as the writing is not overly technical but goes into enough depth to give a good basic understanding of each topic, which can then be explored further using the resources listed at the end of each chapter.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2010
If there is a definite guide to the complex world that comprises personality, individual differences and intelligence, then John Maltby's book is it. A 'must-read' for the interested lay-person and the professional alike, this book does for personality and the field of psychometrics what Steven Hawking did for Black Holes and the field of astrophysics.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2010
As a psychology undergraduate I found this book to be the perfect supplement to my lecture notes on our 'Indiviual differences, personality and intelligence' module. Also very easy to read/understand.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)