Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 April 2013
I think it would have been good for this book to indicate for whom it was written.

I'm a sole trader working in photography and wanted help to understand book keeping. This year will be the first where I would record all expenses and sales in a simple book keeping software, rather than send everything off only at the end of the year to my accountant.

This book was not written for people in my circumstances, and I don't recommend it for anybody in a similar circumstance. It covers very little on book keeping.

I think this book is best for students perhaps in high school considering accounting as a future career and wanting to know more before taking the plunge, or for an investor who wants to buy shares in a company and wants to understand the basics of an annual report, or also maybe for medium-sized business owners who have been putting off understanding accounting and now want to learn about it, or for someone in a company who wants to understand what the accounting department are doing.
11 Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2010
Simple, well written and easy to follow. Having never looked at accounts before they are beginning to make sense - all thanks to a few hours reading this book! Excellent work.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
It's been at least 30 years since I had anything to do with financial statements, and even then, I only knew the very basics. This book has been an excellent source for clearly written revision
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
I was just looking for something on basic bookkeeping, this, to me, was complicated, so, not for me I'm afraid
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
In this simple, easily absorbed, clearly explained book, Rice guides us through all the major accounting concepts.
How to master company accounts, understand balance sheets, profit and loss accounts and cash flow systems. Learn to analyse and monitor a company's financial performance.

This book is logical, concise and well written and explains the fundamentals in a refreshingly digestible way. This book makes it all so simple with lots of visual explanations and simple worked examples.

Don't expect a dry textbook or course book. Accounts Demystified is designed to enlighten the reader without getting too technical.
It would provide a good background or overview of accounting principles to anyone embarking on an AAT course or starting work as an accounts assistant doing prep work.

However the main aim is to provide those not in an accounting profession or planning to be with a way of getting to grips with accounting principles. It would be helpful in dealing with those who work in accounts or for those running a small business.

This is probably the book to buy if you want to know how accounting works without actually working in the field
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2015
As the cover says, "this book makes the complex genius." Accounts can seem overwhelmingly complex and full of lingo. This book gives the reader a basic set of rules and terminology that can be used for very simple accounts to even complex listed accounts. The book doesn't attempt to overwhelm the reader with terminology. New terms are introduced and worked examples are given for each. There are sample accounts in the back of the book which help the learning process in addition to more information on the website. Overall - it does what is says on the tin.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2010
Logical, concise and well written.
Just a great book that explains the fundamentals in a refreshingly digestible way. This has been more help than the £40 textbook for my Accounting course.
Highly recommend.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2015
Still mystified about Accounts, don't waste your money. I would not recommend this book for a beginner in accounting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2015
I lost my 6th edition so was pleased to see an updated 7th edition had been released. I'm a massive fan of this book already but the 7th edition has very useful updates: a very clear section on how to set up and use accounting software; and two new chapters on public company accounts - what they are and how to interpret them (exceptionally useful given how complex listed company accounts seem to have become).
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2011
I bought this book in preparation for the accounting components of the Legal Practice Course (for solicitors). Between "Accounts Demystified" and the equally superb accounting tutorials on Khan Academy, I now have a solid understanding of basic accounting. Thank you, Messrs. Rice and Khan!

This book couldn't be any easier to follow. It starts right from square one and builds up the picture using practical examples, eventually reaching quite some level of detail (including how to spot misleading accounts). Expertly written and supremely instructive, this book wholly deserves its many 5-star reviews.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)