Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 April 2011
This book is superb for those who are interested in strategy... It gives you a wide perspective about the topic and guides you with case studies and helpful information...
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
great textbook. got everything which is required when sitting the exam which uses this textbook. would definitely recommend this textbook as it contains up to date information and cases. Its a bit heavy but whats a it of weight when you can potentially get a 1st in the module this textbook is used in. good price great textbook
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2011
This is my third copy - the others were previous editions which are now of date.

Content and presentation much improved and comes with a CD-ROM to boot. The only downside is that it has got bigger and heavier. It's not something to slip into a briefcase and it'll build up those muscles carrying it about.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2011
I required this text for my strategy course. I've found the book to be well structured, up-to-date, topical, and easy to read. There is plenty of reference to the great strategy writers and there is evaluation of the different ideas. At times it could be clearer about where it is heading and could also use the other common names that are given to theory and models. My lecturer had not used this text before so he often referred to ideas that were not in the index or glossary of the text. When the concept of googled, I could find other names and these were often used. It does however give a good base position that is easy to understand - an amalgamation of much of the material out there. The referencing is detailed as well, so often there is the ability to read some journal articles behind the theory.
I found the online portal unhelpful overall. Nothing really added to the experience with that, so if you're looking at a second hand version I don't think you're missing anything at all.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2012
This is one of the best books for Strategic Management and Business Policy. Very detailed and clear. The book has several case studies and texts including key concepts.

There is also a link where you can log on and take a test to test your knowledge and understanding of a chapter/topic.

Although a bit pricey but worth every penny.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
i chose 5 stars for Johnson, Whittington & Scoles' text book because the chapters take the student from the stages of compiling a Strategic Marketing Plan for an organization.
i recommend it to 3rd year undergraduates, but really you should acquire it at the end of 2nd year exams and begin reading it over the summer holidays as there are so many new analytical tools and aspects a 3rd year has to comprehend that the earlier you can get this book the better for your comprehension, end of year report and 3rd year grades.
i found that i had to read widely to comprehend Porters 5 Forces model, and my fellow students in our 4-man group had to too for the VRIN, etc, as the level of detail is a little scarce - but then it is aimed at undergraduates from a variety of disciplines who are taking a 'strategic' module. so good, but you might have to read around and research the internet to get a bit more detail on the way your tutors want you to apply the models describes in the book. we didnt, and i curse myself for not doing so today, but you should, take abvantage of the CD ROM enclosed at the back of the book as it introduces you to the Strategic Management online course tool that the authors have created especially for us lucky students. though created for Masters & MBA level students, you should form a group of 4, log on, drop in, and do this part of the course of self-study where the group are treated like Directors of a fictional organization who have to actively participate in the course and make strategic decisions. you will enjoy it despite its difficulty - it also prepares you for employment and/or Masters level education too! so - GET THE BOOK, READ IT OVER SUMMER, GET TOGETHER WITH 3 OTHERS, ATTEND THE ONLINE COURSE CONCURRENTLY WHILE ATTENDING LECTURES AND SEMINARS, THEN REVEL IN THE FACT THAT THIS ADDITIONAL TRIANING, MENTIONED ON YOUR CV, WILL, PROBABLY ON ITS OWN, GET YOU THE POST IN THE COMPANY YOU APPLY TO!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2012
Currently studying for an MBA and this textbook is invaluable for strategy assignments and revision purposes. Lots of detail and references to applicable theory, a must buy!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
I used it in my MSc in Strategic Project Management from European Union and it is the best! I am going to use it in PhD too!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
this is a wonderful book. had it for my management classes and it helped me with various assignments, course works and dissertation. Contemporary issues are dealt with in this book than many titles out there. I even read it now and every other time and I discover how relevant it still is. Would definitely recommend it to Managers, Lecturers, Researchers and students
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2011
I'm in my third year at university and this book has helped me immensely. It is very easy to read and is definitely worth the money! Am very glad I bought it. It has relevant up to date examples and is usful for not only studies but as you progress through your career in business or HR. xxx :D
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)