Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 January 2012
This nice overview gives 60 management models that can be classified under strategic, tactical or operational models.

The authors cover each model in 4-6 pages, and this is systematically done under headers like:
- The big picture
- When to use it
- How to use it
- Final analysis
- References
- Notes

Each model often includes figures, some tips, checklists, and steps to take in using the model. The final analysis is reasonably good in giving a fair judgment of the model covered with advantages, disadvantages and suggestions in using the discussed model in combinations with other models if needed.

I would say that the strategic orientated models are really well worked out. The background of the authors and their link with the Dutch consulting firm Berenschot makes that very clear. There is some promotion of the company Berenschot but this is done at a low level.

The operational models section are slightly lesser worked out, or perhaps a poorer selection was made to include certain operational models in this book. Still it is understandable that the authors had to select somewhere in models covered.

Overall this book gives a very nice overview of management models out there. This book is especially strong in covering the strategic models (especially keeping the 4-6 pages coverage for each model in mind).

The following model-classification structure was used in this book:

"- Part One: Strategic models (positioning/aim): These models help to analyse and plan a company's strategy position and provide answers to strategic questions.
- Part Two: Tactical models (design/organization): These models help to organize a company's processes, resources and people. They address important `how to' questions when analyzing and designing excellent organizations.
- Part Three: Operational models (implementation/execution): These models help to change organizations and implement best practices. In addition, this category covers models that help to optimize operational processed and activities. They address the `who, what, when' questions when analyzing and implementing excellent organizations."

Contents:

About the authors
Publisher's acknowledgements
Preface
Using the book

Part One: Strategic models
1. Ansoff's product / market grid
2. The BCG matrix
3. Blue ocean strategy
4. Competitive analysis: Porter's five forces
5. Core competencies
6. Greiner's growth model
7. Kay's distinctive capabilities
8. Market-driven organization
9. Off-shoring / outsourcing
10. Road-mapping
11. Scenario-planning
12. Strategic dialogue
13. Strategic HRM model
14. Strategic human capital planning
15. SWOT analysis
16. The value chain
17. Value-based management
18. The value disciplines of Treacy and Wiersema

Part Two: Tactical models
19. The 7-S framework
20. Activity-based costing
21. Beer and Nohria - E and O theories
22. Benchmarking
23. Business process redesign
24. Competing values of organizational effectiveness
25. Core quadrants
26. Covey's seven habits of highly effective people
27. Curry's pyramid: customer marketing and relationship management
28. The Dupont analysis
29. Factory gate pricing
30. Henderson and Venkatraman's strategic alignment model
31. Hofstede's cultural dimensions
32. House of purchasing and supply
33. The innovation circle
34. Kotler's 4Ps of marketing
35. Kotter's eight phases of change
36. Kraljic's purchasing model
37. Lean thinking / just-in-time
38. MABA analysis
39. Milkovich's compensation model
40. Mintzberg's configurations
41. Monczka's purchasing model
42. Overhead value analysis
43. Quick response manufacturing
44. Senge - The fifth discipline
45. Six sigma
46. The EFQM excellence model
47. The theory of constraints
48. Vendor managed inventory

Part Three: Operational models
49. The balanced scorecard (BSC)
50. Belbin's team roles
51. The branding pentagram
52. Change quadrants
53. Discounted cashflow
54. Kaizen / Gemba
55. Mintzberg's management roles
56. Risk reward analysis
57. Root cause analysis / Pareto analysis
58. The six thinking hats of de Bono
59. The Deming cycle: plan-do-check-act
60. Value stream mapping

Appendix: Model matrix / Categorization of models / Index
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2009
I completed an MBA about 5 years ago, and found the most useful part of the learning was having a suite of models to use as a framework for thought, analysis and discussions. The models don't give you the answers. They are tools to help you find the right answers.

I was looking for a book where I could refresh my memory about key models and their application, and came across this. It is a gem. It has three compelling features. Firstly, the models are logically sorted into groups eg Strategic, Tactical, Operational. Secondly, each model is described very clearly and concisely, structured as a summary, when to use it, how to use it, and a final constructive review of any limitations it may have. Finally, it is written so that it is accessible to anyone, so avoids jargon or unnecessary sophistication. One of the signs of greatness in my opinion is being able to describe complicated ideas simply, and it acheives this.

It is a book that is worth flicking through regularly to trigger thoughts about current strategy and direction within an organisation. I would thoroughly recommend this book to anyone involved in management.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2009
The book includes 59 different Western management models and one Japanese management model (please be aware of this severe imbalance). It is particularly good for people who are interested to understand the characteristics of management styles and practices in Western world. No doubt a lot of these models could be applied in Oriental contexts but modifications should be done in advance.

I bought this book because I have been using some of the models for quite awhile and it is good to see them being compiled as one book. Therefore, it is good for busy people who intend to learn something about management but feel relectant to learn and compile what they have learnt manually.
Personally, I think it is a handy tool-book not only meant for "every manager", but also for non-manager personnel--to know why their managers behave or do things in certain ways.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2009
This book is miracle in filed of management know-how. In very easy to read way you can acquire basic understanding of management know-how.

I have took the harder way by reading for most of the described "Models" the full-pledged versions of their explanations (some of them took more than 1-2 books each).

One can certainly come with proposals of other models that did not make it into final list of this book, however, drawing from past experience of being Head of Strategy dept. in Banking & Insurance I can certify the selection is more than enough not to let you down in real business situations.

If you are early in your career path and heading towards managerial position or just-married with consultancy business, go for it !

If you are student of business major at college/university, the sooner you read through the sooner you see the big picture of what and how can shift your (future) organization(s) into higher gear.

I would like to extend my thank you to authros who made an excellent job in summarizing the thoughts. I use quite a few of the mentioned models in my business life and had little objections to how they were explained in this book. Great job, Gentlemen !
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2011
Very useful book to have in your desk. Not something that I would use every day however I have found a number of uses where it has saved me considerable time and effort. I would genuinely recommend this book
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
Working in Product Management I found this book very useful. It gives quick explanations for models that can help you frame your thinking in many different ways.

Kept me a step ahead of my competition :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2012
I was looking for a book that contains the most used strategies and I found it. Although some strategies are not shown and listed, this book has indeed a lot of different strategies which are very helpful and useful. If more companies use more of those strategies, then we would have a lot more successful organisations in this world.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2011
This is the kind of book that you keep in "current reading" for a long time. It provides authoritative summaries of the main theories that have emerged in management over the past 50 years or so. Each is treated in enough depth to send you to the Internet with a good idea of what to look for.

It is also a good checklist of "unknown unknowns" - I had not seen a few of the models before, and this was good for me.

Finally, it is an excellent resource for anybody who wants to explain one of the models to somebody else in a short time.

I am very glad I bought it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2011
Having just completed a Masters degree I think if I had this book at the beginning it would have definitely helped and also saved me some time. The explanations of the models and how they can be utilised are, in my opinion, brilliant. If you are serious about you role in management and can't commit to additional studies then this is a must for you. My advice is ... BUY IT!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2010
I use a variety of business models in my consulting work and I purchased this book together with 'Business Model Generation, by Osterwalder and Pigneur. I found the latter book more useful for creative work I undertake with several clients. This text, 'Key Management Models' is excellent in bringing myself and clients up to speed with tools and techniques that can be used for disgnosing and fixing organisational problems and implementing change.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)