Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
10
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 April 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2005
This book offers a different perspective to the vast majority of project management titles and is focused on project delivery and the basic management tasks that need to be completed and potential pitfalls that may be encountered. The author provides a clear and concise set of learnings which can be tailored to support the many project management methodologies that are engaged within the world of Project Management. Whilst each section has its own merits, and the two which personally stood out for me were 'listening and talking' and 'personal styles'. The strong underlying message is that irrespective of experience, it is important to continually revisit how you manage projects and key lessons that you can take onto your next assignment.
I rate this book within the top 5% of project management books that I have read in terms of content and clarity, and subsequently I have no hesitation in recommending this book to both my experienced project management peers and those embarking on a career within this discipline. .
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2007
I have to say this book is one of a kind, i bought this book thinking what else can be read about PROJECT MANAGEMENT that other writers haven't written. but Richard Newton knows exactly what you really need to know about being a successfull project manager. He gives you scenarios, examples and explains from his own personal life experience.

Now when the book says pay good attention to chapter 2, it's really worth paying attention to, because that chapter is one of the main key of being a successfull project manager.

The best thing about this book, is that it is aimed at everybody who wants to get the best out of being a successfull project manager.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2007
With a bombardment of management methods and other resources it's nice to read a book that actually spells out the essence of what project management really is. This book will help you identify what a Project Manager should be doing and what are the "common sense" tasks that turn the mediocre into the great. I read this book cover to cover and found it to be well laid out, easy to read and clearly written by someone who's been there and has got the t-shirt.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2007
You will never regret getting this book - and more than likely someone will want to steal it from you! I've been working as a programme and project manager for nearly 10 years now. And have the expected professional accreditations (prince2 and pmp) - yet this book has still made a lasting impact with me. Being a contractor means you are entirely responsible for your own career progression and whilst I've always learned something from my various roles, however no other PM book has so accurately captured the fundamentals like this one! But please don't write this book off if you've loads of actual experience. It really focuses upon the human / behaviours which will make the difference. So many times I've been frustrated with my clients or customers for scope creep or lack of definition - and this book discusses this at some length. The impact of this book is really overwhelming. I only wish I had read this when I first bought it in 2005 at an airport to pass the time. Had I read this book two years ago I have no doubt I could have been more effective and happier about the projects I was managing back then.

However, now, just one week after reading the book, my current client has told me that hiring me was the best decision she's made for this programme in the 18 months she's been directing it. I was amazed and know that it's almost certainly because of the impact this book has had on my approach. It really won't matter where you are in the food-chain of project management - this book will be a huge resource to you. Just buy it! Enjoy!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2005
This book stands out from the many others on this topic because it focusses on acheiving success in real world situations and views the delivery of projects in a pragmatic way. That's not to say that it doesn't cover the tools of project management, because it does, but the focus of this book (and the real value in my eyes) is that this book focuses in the main on the professional and personal characteristics that make a difference in real world situations such as communications, empathy, influencing, support, dynamism and ownership. The book is also an interesting read, and there are characters who many of us will recognise from real life situations (I have met many Teflon-man project managers!). A refreshing approach which makes a difference to project delivery.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2005
An excellent book covering the critical but often unspoken aspects of project delivery that go beyond methodology. The format is easy to read and includes practical tips and lessons. Those new to project management will find it an ideal reference based upon real life project experience. Experienced project managers will find it includes things you already do but didn't realise the benefits and quite a few new approaches to improve performance. Recommended.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2005
Congratulations on a wonderfully written and refreshing approach to a subject matter which can be both confusing yet simple but not widely understood. The author's approach to project management provides an interesting perspective on the human side of project management and not simply the academic or acquired skills learnt on courses. This is probably one of the most fitting and easy to apply approaches to project management I have come across. It provides the reader with an opportunity to understand and focus on shortfalls in their behaviour and approach. Unfortunately, the book isn't widely publicised which I feel is detrimental to its potential.
A inspired approach to the subject matter and a real pleasure to read.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2005
At last a book that offers a pragmatic approach to project management! This is an excellent tool to have at hand on the occasions when things may not be going quite to plan. You'd really love to talk things through with someone but no-one has the relevant knowledge/experience, etc - let's face it we've all be there! This book acts as a mentor, it guides you through the challenges, helps you focus and brings you back on track - well recommended.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2009
This book is for true project managers everywhere.

Too often Project Management books focus on the "philosophies" and methodologies of project management to the detriment of the things that really matters, communication, effective team management, stakeholder engagement.

Highly recommended reading even for those project / programme managers who have been there, done it and got the t-shirt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)