Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop now Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



VINE VOICEon 2 April 2012
This marvellous book has been all around our office and has helped everyone who's read it (under the desk). The title is catchy but slightly misleading because this really is a serious book about how to develop excellent working relationships, principally with the person you report to at work. It shows you how to improve your relationship with your boss, how to know when to move on and gives many techniques that will help you in your own personal development, regardless of who you work for.

It explains via psychology that managers, like everyone else, fall into broad personality types and have a fairly limited range of working styles. Understanding these can make a massive difference to the working routine and whether we admit to it or not, personality problems are up there amongst the most common reasons for moving jobs.

The book covers working styles, how to discover your own strengths and weaknesses, what to focus upon and what to reduce, how to make sure that your own working needs are covered and developed as well as the boss's. It then goes on to explain how to develop your own career by building on your personal strengths and increasing your skill set.

The book doesn't stop at explaining how to 'please' your boss - it's much more about understanding the psychology of different types, and moving your own career forward because you can see things from the point of view of your employer. Much less shallow than the title makes it sound.

Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
I was expecting some tips and tricks but it is really just a basic run through of how to get on well with your boss. stuff your mother could tell you, mostly. I guess it is ok for raising consciousness but its not an 'insiders' guide.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2008
I recommend this book to anyone who has to deal with professional relationships. Besides giving good tips on how to react to certain situations and behaviours, it helps putting things into perspective and to ask ourselves the right questions. A good way to use this book is by reading it twice: the first time to make a general reading of the contents and the second one to answer the questions that are made and to analize what we already make right and what we need to change.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2002
As a recent graduate in my first role of real responsibility, I found this book was crammed with useful information right from the start. Even if you think you have a good relationship with your boss, you might still learn a thing or two from this book. The book was well presented and easy to read and I would recommend it to anyone.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2007
The book is better than I thought when scanning the table of content. It has some good example of how to handle things. It is good for quick reading. I finished the book in a couple of hours. However, for detailed Assertive skills, there are better books out there.

The Amazon heading is misleading, as the book is mainly focusing on handling boss, tho I personally am of the opinion that boss is just another human being, and should not be singled out.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2015
Have started to deploy the weapons provided in this book to be aware of the office politics and to get some understanding of this sick environment. Surely hard work itself is enough but it is useful to understand the strategies of those who would seek your failure. Very interesting in some aspects. Give me a factory any day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2015
This is an excellent book full of good advice on how to get on with work mates, especially tricky managers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2016
Good book, recommend to everyone
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2016
Excellent product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse