Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 September 2000
This book is an excellent reference tool that anyone can understand. I found the layout and language a fantastic help when trying to grapple with nasty finanacial concepts. This book allowed me to finally gain a clear understanding of the basic foundations of the financial and business world after hours of previous failure.
I will keep this book beside me as I move through a career in industry as a secret weapon to ward off the financial whizz-kids! I would thoroughly recommend this book as invaluable to anyone with an interest in the business world and keeping one step ahead!
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2007
I purchased this book on the recommendation of a co-worker (fully qualified accountant) who used the third edition while at uni. She was spot on when she told me that it is a great help to those students who come from a non-accounting background. (i.e. no A levels in accounting).

The layout is easy to follow, great self tests along the way, case studies, real world relevent news articles and even an online site with further tests.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2009
I was a bit sceptical when i was told I 'had' to have this book for my course, but I have to admit, it certainly makes things a lot easier to understand. Anyone with common sense can follow what the book says as it is straight forward and 'no nonsense'. It is exactly what it says it is on the book. It doesn't matter if you aren't a maths geek, you dont need to be. Every chapter is explained and is progressive in structure. Harder concepts are covered in more detail than easier ones for example, with easier ones at the beginning of each chapter. If you are doing a Business Studies degree I would certaintly recommend this if accounting is one of the modules you study, even if you only get it on long term loan from the college or uni library (although we all know how rare some books are to find once term starts ^^). It's a bit pricey but I guess thats par for the course as far as text books are concerned. Oh and good luck passing whatever you're studying :)

P.S. It covers accounting in fairly basic terms, it doesnt go into much depth so probably wouldn't be much use for a pure accounting qualification, but as a module guide for Business Studies etc, it works very well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2000
John does a very good job of informing the reader and assumes little or no previous accounting experience. If you're new to the world of accounting or finance, this is the book for you.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2011
Covers all the basics in understandable terms for those with no previous knowledge of the subject. Some topics are glossed over a little too quickly and some readers may find that this book used in conjunction with the Financial Times' Guide to Using and Interpreting Accounts will give a complete picture (albeit one that you have to assemble yourself!). Bargain at this price tho - well worth the 1p + P&P I paid.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2009
This book contains all the information that is required for accounting skills if you do not have any when starting your own business.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2001
What can I say? This book tells you virtually everything you need to know about accounting -- and not a technie in sight!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2003
The book has been chosen to be our coursebook and was a great help when I did the very basics of accounting. When it came to the second year however, the number of examples was insufficient to help students understand the topics. The explanations are good but sometimes too long. It's a good book to use as a core text but not enough to understand topics well.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2004
This book is easy to read yet engages the reader in financial accounting. This provides all essential information without overload and gives a firm understanding and grasp of all concepts. the book is colourful and easy to read.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2011
Very quick delivery, great value for money. Great book to help you with basic accounting if you're not an accountant or good with numbers!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)