Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
119
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 May 2013
bought to complete and complement Tolkein's Hobbit and Lord of the Rings but takes some getting used to probably useful as a reference.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
Got this as a christmas gift for my girlfriend who is into Tolkien. Went down really well (got in a lil trouble) and has expanded the middle earth universe for her.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2016
Looking forward to reading this after enjoying 'The Silmarillion', also by J.R.R.Tolkien.It was delivered speedily and was in pristine condition - very happy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
a big obvious point in all the wonders tolkien wanted to offer us but didnt get the chance to complete. the completed stories are absolutely fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2005
Tolkien is an amazing writer. I enjoyed reading his books, especially The Hobbit, the Lord of the Rings, and the Silmarillion. If you are a Tolkien fan, then, you should read this at least once. Even though it does not flow and hold your interest like The Hobbit or The Lord of the Rings, it still is a good read. This book is a collection of short stories as well as some of Tolkien's notes from the Battle of Unnumbered Tears until the destruction of the Ring. True this book is not like his previous novels, but you will certainly love it. You will want to read it more than once.
Also recommended: THE USURPER AND OTHER STORIES, THE LORD OF THE RINGS TRILOGY, THE END OF THE THIRD AGE.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2016
If you are a Middle Earth fan, this is a good piece of work. Not as good as The Silmarillion or Children of Hurin, but still a very good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
WOW... this book is detailed! Won't spoil it for the others but it's worth completing the collection if you're a fan of J.R.R. Tolkien's fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
I'm still in the middle of reading this book, having read The Lord of the Rings trilogy and The Hobbit. It's rather hard going with all the names and there are lots of footnotes which I haven't had time to check. It does explain a lot of the background to The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings though so I'll keep reading to the end.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2015
Was a gift for a friend obsessed with LOTR and Hobbit, she had not heard of this book before and enjoyed it greatly!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
As always, this is another great product and it has completely met my expectations. As such, I highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse