Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
1,557
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£22.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 May 2015
As with The Hobbit, mint copy, great edition, delighted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2015
Didn't realise it was an American version - disappointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2015
Bought for the Wife. She likes the books so I am happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2012
Incredible book, the pages are of really high quality, and it is beutiful with alot of content(maps/family trees/songs etc. This is a must own for someone that is into The Lord of the Rings. Reading it every night when I go to bed :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2015
Can't wait until I have the rest of those audio books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
Not quite what I expected, but very good nevertheless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2015
Excellent book and a great addition to the collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2011
Even though I like descriptive writing, half of this book is Tolkien detailing to the last grain the world that he has conjured up in his mind. Even though it can be annoying at times, the level of detail is impressive. By the last book, you get used to it all.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
I had high hopes for this edition.
Printed by the South China Sea Company. Strike 1.
No maps. Strike 2.
No pages from the Book of Mazarbul. Strike 3.
The paperstock seems a bit shiny, but I suppose since most are just collecting this edition and not reading it, I guess that's OK.
It is difficult to get the book back into the plastic slipcase.
The illustrations are very nice.
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 1999
If I had more wonderful words to describe the Lord of the Rings I would write them down instantly, but I don't. The book tells you about four beloved little hobbits who's names are :Frodo Baggins, Sam Gamee, Pippin Took and Merry Brandybuck.These brave characters set out on a perilious journey across Middle earth in order to distroy the one ring of power.They did not go alone, for their good friends : Gandalf the grey, Aragorn, Legolas, Gimly and Boromir travelled with them. On their way they passed through the enchanted lands of Rivendell, Lothlorien and walked in the dark mines of Moria. As a lover of books I would definitely recommend this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here