Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 22 July 2017
I think this book is indispensable if you are reading the Silmarillion. I started the book without it and soon realised the entire book is full of geographical descriptions as elves and men are constantly moving round Middle Earth. I prefer to relate stories like this to a map but found only a very small map of Beleriand embedded within Tolkien's text. it was frustrating not to be able to follow all the events which occurred on a map. This Atlas solved my problem as it has a number of fairly detailed maps of the regions of Middle Earth and Valinor described in the text. There are also explanatory notes next to many of the maps which help to explain their context and relevance. It is also very helpful for reading the Hobbit and Lord of the Rings (although these two books do have some maps included as appendices).
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2017
Its great for visualising the paths taken by the characters in the LOTR and I'd say its a must have if you're reading the Silamarillion since it makes all the confusing regions so much easier to understand. Excellent quality maps but also some really nice detailed description. If you enjoy looking at the tiny little maps provided in the Tolkien books, this atlas will blow your mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 September 2017
Wonderful birthday present for my friend, she loved it! Thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 June 2017
Bought it as a gift for my boyfriend, he absolutely loved it! A must-have for any Tolkien fans
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 August 2017
Very detailed and informative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 June 2017
clear pictures very useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 October 2017
Fascinating book - well thought out and presented although not quite what I expected. Full of interesting information about all the ages of middle earth written about by Tolkein.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2014
I would reccommend this book to anyone who wants an easy access to the brief History of Tolkien's Mythology right from the creation of Arda to the end of the Third Age. You don't just get maps, but a full account of the most important historical events and characters with detailed maps of battles and places. I got much more from this book than I expected, and I trully think this is the best overall companion to getting introduced the whole of Tolkien's vision for it gives you a very definite image of the whole story. I think the descriptions for the maps are equally enjoyable and useful to read, with short enough essentials about what they depict. It helped me tremendously to understand the events of the Silmarillion and Unfinished Tales much better. I would strongly recommend this book to anyone who wants to dig deeper to Tolkien's First and Second age before the Lord of the Rings, and is in need of visual support to oversee the vast and diverse landscapes of Middle Earth.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
This atlas is simply the best working of Middle Earth maps I have ever seen. If you want to follow the course of events in any of the books, or like me, just like browsing the fantastically detailed world that Tolkien created, this is for you. It is a must if you intend reading the Silmarilion, with its multitudinous locations and people, as it simply records the territories of the different Elf clans, and presents extremely detailed plans of every location mentioned. I have also used it for role playing in Middle Earth, as it is phenominally consistent with distances and provides plans of most of the important buildings and cities visited, such as Bag End, Minas Tirith, Beorn's House, Thranduil's Halls, Lothlorien, Cirith Ungol, etc, etc. If it's mentioned in the books, it's in here!
0Comment| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2003
This is a superb, high-quality, well-produced resource for all dedicated fans of Middle Earth. The author has dedicated a lot of time to producing these painstakingly detailed, comprehensive maps and drawings of every aspect of the imaginary world, from the creation myth, the coming of elves in the 1st Age to the events of the 3rd Age detailed in Lord of the Rings. Simply a must have item for any true fan - and a snip at the price for the many years of enjoyment that this book will bring to you. The maps are produced in a very serious, professional fashion. No hobbit-type sketches here - if that's what you ant, try early editions of 'Unfinished Tales' - this takes itself very seriously, discussing the such detail as the land shifts, population growth and humidity (!) Just buy it folks! It's fantastic!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse