Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 July 2017
I think this book is indispensable if you are reading the Silmarillion. I started the book without it and soon realised the entire book is full of geographical descriptions as elves and men are constantly moving round Middle Earth. I prefer to relate stories like this to a map but found only a very small map of Beleriand embedded within Tolkien's text. it was frustrating not to be able to follow all the events which occurred on a map. This Atlas solved my problem as it has a number of fairly detailed maps of the regions of Middle Earth and Valinor described in the text. There are also explanatory notes next to many of the maps which help to explain their context and relevance. It is also very helpful for reading the Hobbit and Lord of the Rings (although these two books do have some maps included as appendices).
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
Bought it as a gift for my boyfriend, he absolutely loved it! A must-have for any Tolkien fans
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2017
clear pictures very useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2017
Shame that the listing did not show pictures of book interior as the maps are very roughly drawn and look quite slapdash. But perhaos that is the reason.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This atlas is simply the best working of Middle Earth maps I have ever seen. If you want to follow the course of events in any of the books, or like me, just like browsing the fantastically detailed world that Tolkien created, this is for you. It is a must if you intend reading the Silmarilion, with its multitudinous locations and people, as it simply records the territories of the different Elf clans, and presents extremely detailed plans of every location mentioned. I have also used it for role playing in Middle Earth, as it is phenominally consistent with distances and provides plans of most of the important buildings and cities visited, such as Bag End, Minas Tirith, Beorn's House, Thranduil's Halls, Lothlorien, Cirith Ungol, etc, etc. If it's mentioned in the books, it's in here!
0Comment| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2003
This is a superb, high-quality, well-produced resource for all dedicated fans of Middle Earth. The author has dedicated a lot of time to producing these painstakingly detailed, comprehensive maps and drawings of every aspect of the imaginary world, from the creation myth, the coming of elves in the 1st Age to the events of the 3rd Age detailed in Lord of the Rings. Simply a must have item for any true fan - and a snip at the price for the many years of enjoyment that this book will bring to you. The maps are produced in a very serious, professional fashion. No hobbit-type sketches here - if that's what you ant, try early editions of 'Unfinished Tales' - this takes itself very seriously, discussing the such detail as the land shifts, population growth and humidity (!) Just buy it folks! It's fantastic!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 1999
Absolutly Brilliant! Maps of everywhere you could possibly want. From population distributions and maps of the whole of arda, to a plan of The Prancing Pony. It is fascinating and appears accurate to all the texts including the HOME and yet does not shy away from filling in the gaps. All I can say is if you want a Tolkien Reference book this is the best, along with Robert Foster's Comlete Guide to ME, I have come accross. Buy it!
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2009
A truly fantastic book, vital for every Tolkien fan; it contains not only plentiful maps of the areas of Middle-Earth we see in Tolkien's books, but also a concise, simple and absorbing history of the region, a detailed analysis of the geography, races and demography of the world, and also a fascinating review of many of the major events and battles in the Middle-Earth timeline. Myself being an avid 'Lord of the Rings' fan, the fact that I read many things I had previously not known proves that there is so much more to know, and this book is an excellent starting point for any Middle-Earth historian.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2002
This is a must for those who, like myself, are massive Tolkine fans. Here you will find detailed maps of all the places mentioned throughout the Lord Of the Rings and the Hobbit, include markers to indicate where certain events of the story happened, there are even battle plans for some of the battles that occur during the tales, showing the movements of the various armies.
This is NOT for those who merely LIKE Tolkien's work, you have to be a die-hard fan.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2004
An absolutely amazing read for anyone even remotely interested in middle earth.
It provides such enormous detail about so many places mentioned in the lord of the rings, the hobbit and the sillmarillion like Bag End, Minas Tirith, Beorn's House, Thranduil's Halls, Lothlorien and Cirith Ungol as well as lands in the east and south only mentioned in the ambarkanta, painting a wonderfully vivid picture of the lands envisaged by tolkien from only mere sketches or long drawn out passages.
Anyone producing even a nithe of Karan Wynn Fonstad's work is truly worth acknowledging. Even a glance through this book will have you pouring over it for hours!!!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse