Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
30
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 January 2004
This is one heck of a good read. The perfect formula-
this book + a comfy chair/sofa + the LOTR movie soundtrack + an hour or so to yourself= a very enjoyable hour!
I can't believe how well this book is written; my addiction to it almost mirrors that of my addiction to the classic trilogy. What I found incredibly refreshing, however, was how the author does not restrain from giving us the truth. So, for example, it doesn't give Tolkien a major ego boost (if one could do that to a person 31 years dead) but instead it gives him praise when it's due, and criticism when it's due, e.g. when it comes to his grades in his early education.
A great read, anyone who wants a deeper insight into the life of my favourite author should buy this immediately. Plus, Amazon did a great service of delivering this. Buy it from here, now!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
A simply fascinating read for a Tolkien devotee,especially for those who are familiar with his Birmingham roots. A delight which helps in the understanding of some of the influences on his work. This took me back so many years to my first reading of The Hobbit, and my shared sadness at the changes in the old English countryside.
Read it with joy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2005
Do you like Tolkien's books? Do you want to know about the life of this brilliant author? If yes than you must read this biography. This biography isn't boring even to those who haven't read The Lord of the Rings and want to know about this author. This Biography gives you a full account of Tolkien's books especially The Lord of the Rings. Thanks Mr Carpenter for this wonderful Biography.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
I bought it as a present for my friend -- a lady, not a teenager -- and she was happy to have it, as has read all of Tolkien's oeuvre.
Sorry I cannot give specifics about the book.
thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
A must read for even the slightest fan.Author brilliantly shows how Tolkiens world influenced his books.This really gets under the authors skin and you feel that you have met him.Excellent work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
THE REFERENCE that every Tolkien's devotee should have whith her/him! An essential document which all specialists of the great english writer used for their own works!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
A compelling account of a remarkable, yet in some ways ordinary, life. I shall now read the Silmarillion, and then possibly re-read all Tolkien's other books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
This book did not try to make Tolkien out to be perfect but It showed the true side of his character both good and bad. A great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2015
just started reading this and am very pleased with it as I have Tolkien's books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2016
brill no more words can best book of its kind
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)