Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 19 April 2016
The War that explains a lot about the first world war.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 November 2015
Read this as background info on how Germany came into being and why the antaganism to the French
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2015
A great summary of the events (More maps would have been good)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2014
I always avoided the f-p war as not involving the UK. well written and wide ranging. used condition exactly as stated
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 September 2011
This is a superb book on this topic. As a battlefield guide with many trips to the Western Front and the Normandy beaches under my belt, it was remiss of me to go so long without reading an account of the Franco-Prussian war of 1870-71.

History is a continuum but I do feel that the F-P war was the starting point of events in Europe that culminated in the fall of the Berlin wall and the collapse of the Soviet Union. So, essential to have a good grasp of it.

This book gives a detailed but not tedious description of the political, historical, military, technological and social background to the state of France and Prussia in the mid 19th C. It then describes the almost ludicrous French taking of Bismarck's bait, followed by the engagements, from division level and upwards and finally the collapse of the French body politic into near anarchy and revolution in defeat.

The writing is concise, free of academic waffle and the treatment is comprehensive. It's said that this is the definitive single volume on the subject still, after over 40 years. I think it would be very difficult to beat it, unless by the inclusion of much new information and rediscovered archive material, which has not happened to date.

I deducted one star because, as so often with books on military history that have been republished in p/back, the maps and diagrams have been reduced to near illegibility. I read this book with a large scale French road atlas to hand. Without this, much description of troop movement becomes incomprehensible.

But a very highly recommended book, nevertheless.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2014
This is a wonderful piece of historical research and writing. It is however woefully let down by the maps which contain no military information and appear to be photocopied from the French equivalent of Ordinance Survey. This makes the excellent descriptions near impossible to follow. There are no other illustrations. The work was first published in 1961 and does not seem to have been improved for later editions. The war consisted of an amazing number of battles and engagements but lasted only 5 months. Inevitably many of the chapters are chronologically overlapping and a schematic showing the sequence of events would have helped enormously. The publishers have done the author no favours.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 May 2013
Extremely good but does perhaps dwell in far too much detail of every battle that took place, nevertheless it is a darn good read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 September 2015
This is only my second EBook of Military History and I thoroughly enjoyed "reading" it again - there will always be problems if following maps on an Ereader and staying current with the text but with patience it is a thoroughly good read!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 April 2017
A bit heavy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2016
Book received in good condition exactly as advertised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)