Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 July 2017
Heck, this brought back so many memories!
In my 'O' level years (1971-73) this was a compulsory book on our English Language course, and whilst I was always going to end up going down a more science based set of 'A' levels I must say that this little book introduced me to poems whose images have stuck with me for a lifetime.
A wonderful introduction to intelligible poetry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2012
This is a book I had to study for my 'O' Levels back in the days of Beatlemania. The poems are varied and I loved seeing them all again. It really is a good selection of 20th Century Poets. I can't believe the silly money price I paid, bargain of the year.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2009
After searching for 44 years throughout second-hand book shops in Britain, I have eventually found this treasure that I had always remembered from school days.

The book arrived in very good condition, very quickly and for a very minimal amount of money!!

Ten Twentieth Century Poets is the most wonderful reminder of days gone by. I would certainly recommend the seller for his prompt service and first rate comments on the condition.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
I studied this book for a school exam around 1965 and loved the poems. I bought a copy but, over the intervening years I am not sure what happened but, when I last looked for it I could not find it.
Because of its age I never thought of looking on Amazon.
The book was well used possibly as a school study book in average condition but, that was of no concern to me it was the contents I was interested in.
This volume has a good and varied collection of poems and styles it is easy and pleasurable to read if you enjoy poetry plus for me it has a great nostalgia factor.
It’s out of print so this is the only way to get a copy it’s also old so don’t expect great condition unless you’re willing to pay a premium.
Whilst this sort of thing is always reliant to the readers tastes personally I would highly recommend it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2014
I've bought this book many times because people keep borrowing and not returning it. This one is even the very edition I studied at school in 1962 and I've loved these ten poets ever since. Great to have it again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2010
A good selection of the ten best of twentieth century poets, with biographies, and well written in-depth notes discussing the various works, and the literary era.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2014
I was pleased to get the book because I love the poems in it but it has hand-written notes throughout which are distracting. If I had known they were there I wouldn't have bought this copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
Great condition
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2016
Great
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here