Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
211
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£3.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 January 2016
Loved it. Scientifcally interesting and funny. Thanks for sharing Ruby !
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
Firstly - If you haven't read Sane New World: Taming the Mind by Ruby Wax then you MUST (but you don’t need to have read it to enjoy this book...).

This review does not say Verified Purchase as I was given it as a present and read it instantly.

A Mindfulness Guide for the Frazzled is yet another hilarious, well written and thought provoking read by Ruby Wax.

The word Mindfulness is everywhere at the moment - and Ruby explains exactly what it means, how to do it and why it’s so important to live "in the moment". The book includes a six week mindfulness course, which has been put together with the help of her Oxford university tutor, Professor Mark Williams - this includes mindful thinking, mindful movement, mindful eating. I'm guilty at not eating mindfully - unwrapping a chocolate bar and practically swallowing it hole without even looking at it let alone really tasting it.

You can tell she has really done her research and credit must also go to Joanna Bowen, the editor, who also edited Sane New World. The book is laced with humour and Ruby's own experiences - she is brilliant at making the complex subject of the brain easier to understand. There is something for everyone in this book - parents / teenagers / teachers.... and even if you aren't one of those (I'm not), it is one of those books I will go back to again and again as it’s such a good manual for mindful and healthier living.

It’s no wonder she has earned herself an OBE.
0Comment| 79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
Love this mindfulness guide which is easy to read and written by someone that most of us can identify with. Very useful to also dip in and out of when the going gets tough.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2016
What a brilliant book. Written with the wit that only Ruby could managed, a must read for all of us who lie awake at night with heads spinning like a tumble dryer.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
Please do yourself a favour, be kind to yourself and buy this book, then tell everyone else to do the same. Make this world a better place if you can. I knew this woman would tell us how it is...how it is to finally find peace from unnecessary emotional suffering. I love you Ruby Wax!
11 Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
Absolutely brilliant book - easy to read and in places warmly funny about situations that are not funny when you are personally experiencing them, but the humour helps to put some perspective on the situation. Thank you Ruby
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
Brilliant book as was her last. Filled with humour about a serious and life changing thing, that we could all do with more of, peace in a mad world!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2016
Loved the foist book but this was disappointing, a third of the book is mindfullness for children, that is not made clear at all and lots of repetition, all in all a very expensive book with very poor content
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2016
One of the best books I've ever read. Great gifts for anybody suffering with mental health issues and also for everyone else in order for them to be more compassionate and understanding with people who suffer.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2016
When I am feeling frazzled I find to hard to take in lots of information that is swamped by a lot of stories. I prefer short chapters, and small soundbites to long narratives, so not for me, which is a shame as it has good information.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)