Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 3 June 2017
Very interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2017
A necessary read for all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2017
Excellent value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
Factual and clear.
To be recommended to everybody living today.
This is an easy to read book and as one reads the interest in the subject matter grows,
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2013
Very interesting, shame it's taken so long before it's come to the fore again. should be part of all weight loss programmes
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
Perfect, Marvelously quick delivery!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
Good an true reseRch !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2017
Arrived quickly, everyone should buy a copy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 March 2013
I read this book when it was first published in the early 70s and it inspired me in my subsequent career. At last Yudkin is getting the recognition that he deserves and the truth of his message is being believed, albeit slowly. I am disgusted, but not in the least surprised, that big big business in the shape of the sugar industry sought to denigrate him, sadly, aided by scientists and medics who are often dependent on funding from the private sector for their research. It's just the same with the pharmaceutical companies. Yudkin's logical arguments and research made sense 40 years ago and still do and should be listened to as the huge burden of obesity threatens to cripple not only the sufferers but also health services around the world. I recall years ago research into overfeeding that found that the only way people could consume huge excesses of calories was by drinking sugar-laden beverages. It couldn't be done with fatty foods or proteins as the normal satiety mechanisms kicked in, whereas liquid sugar could be consumed in great excess. It shouldn't surprise us that refined sucrose (like table sugar) doesn't trigger endogenous mechanisms to regulate our intake as it's a relatively novel foodstuff to the human digestive system whereas saturated fat, for example, has been a staple for millions of years. It's a similar scenario for trans-fats which are largely produced by hydrogenating unsaturated oils to become solid saturated fats, however, the shape (hence the name trans) of the resulting fats are different from natural saturated fats and the enzymes for dealing with saturated fats can't deal with them properly.
I recommend reading this book as it not only has an important message but it's also written in a lively style easily accessible for the layperson.
22 Comments| 123 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
We've been told for so long that fat is the enemy of weight control and heart disease but this book - originally written in the 1970's - points the finger at sugar. The author was unfortunate in publishing the evidence at the same time as other researchers were blaming saturated fats for the rise in heart problems and weight gain and his research work (as a British academic) was vilified in some circles. There's a fascinating chapter at the end of the book on how the sugar industry tried to paint Yudkin's work as nonsense and sought to censor his publications.

I came across this book after a friend gave me a link to an on-line lecture from the University of California academic Robert Lustig, Lustig had never heard of Yudkin but found, on reading 'Pure, White and Deadly' that he was "a Yudkinite". He was amazed that Yudkin was saying the same things in the 70's that he is now finding to be true in his research into childhood obesity in the States. Lustig's on-line lecture and his subsequent book are entitled "Sugar - the bitter truth" Look up this lecture and you may be shocked at what Lustig (and Yudkin) say about sugar's effect on blood pressure and cholesterol not to mention obesity and diabetes.

I gave up eating sugar two months ago after reading this book and have never felt better.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)