Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
820
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 January 2017
I usually like Lesley Pearse books but this was rather superficial and predictable. Some surprisingly anachronistic language which I found distracting - for example, wine o'clock was not a phrase used in 1991 and people didn't go round calling each other babe all the time either. There is also a glaring error in the many referrals to a dead woman leaving her half of the marital home to her children, unbeknown to her husband. If a house is jointly owned, on the first death it passes wholly to the survivor and doesn't form part of an estate, so this simply isn't possible. (I know that a property can be owned as tenants in common, where this could happen, but this is almost never used in marital type ownership, only between friends etc. and anyway it is explicitly stated at one point that the wife had insisted on joint ownership.) I find it really irritating when part of the plot depends on something like this which just wouldn't happen! It's another factor which is distracting and detracts from any credibility the story might have - which to be honest isn't all that much in this case, but that's not the point.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
This is a great story and well worth reading. The only down side is that the number of crisis the heroine has to suffer are, by the end, a little bit unbelievable. However, it is a good story and I will read more by this author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2017
I absolutely loved this book it was brilliant. Although I shouldn't have been surprised by this as I have never read a Lesley Pearse novel that I didn't love. Definitely recommend to anyone who loves losing themselves in a good read!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
Interesting characters, plausible plot, but the amount of catastrophes the heroine has to go through is silly.
Poor ending, felt rather rushed, North West location poorly researched too.
However, this is yet another Lesley Pearse book I've read, so she must be doing something right!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2017
This book could have been a good story but was ruined by how unbelievable characters and unrealistic scenarios that were almost child-like in the way they written. I really don't understand why it's received such good reviews from others. This is the second and last book I've read by this author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2017
Like a midsummer murders double episode with lots of twists lots of drama and lots of waiting about going why can't you see! Really enjoyed it and loved having the audio with it listening to it on my way to work!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2017
Another great from Lesley Pearce.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
I have read all Lesley's books apart from her new one which is now out. I think this is up there as one of her best although none of them have been a let down. Read this in a couple of days and would certainly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2017
wife very happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2017
Great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here