Shop Women's Shop Men's Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
75
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 June 2017
A funny Adrian Mole book, but not as good as the rest. Annoyingly it rambles on about boring things, but still good. Clearly Sue Townsend ran out of ideas!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2014
Compared to the others in the series, this one feel s a little tacked together. It was still funny, but not nearly as good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2009
I love Adrian Mole, however this book isrushed and does not feel like it's been properly thought through, it seems to be something that was shoved together to make a little more cash. It's easy to read and does have some good parts to it but i think once you've read the one after this makes plot holes appear. Not her best one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2009
2008's The Lost Diaries of Adrian Mole is a curious anomaly in Sue Townsend's series of comic novels, and seems to be regarded by many readers as a non-canonical and half-baked entry. Published barely a year before the next `proper' entry in the series, 2009's The Prostrate Years, it comes across as merely a `starter' to keep the reader occupied before the `main course' is served up. However, despite its many shortcomings, this is nevertheless one of the most `laugh out loud' funny books in the Mole canon. Nominally fitting in between 1999's The Cappuccino Years and 2004's Adrian Mole and the Weapons of Mass Destruction, this book is supposedly made up of some of Mole's diary entries that subsequently went missing (for reasons that become clear as the book progresses), and charts his struggles in bringing up his younger son William and his teenage boy Glenn.
In all fairness, there are some serious miscalculations here (Townsend bizarrely brings herself into the story for a odd, and ultimately pointless, meshing of fact and fiction), as well as continuity errors relating to his sons' previously-established ages and the fates of certain characters (such as Ivan Braithwaite), plus, most annoyingly, repetition of previously used material (Mole's dire prehistoric novel `Krog From Gork' is nearly identical to his `Sparg From Kronk' effort as featured in 1993's The Wilderness Years, whilst the `Earwig' poem, here supposedly written by Townsend herself, was previously the work of Mole's nemesis Barry Kent). However, despite these oddities, the book is generally hilarious and well worth a look; if for no other reason, Mole's blithely shameless attempt to rip off Harry Potter with his story `Larry Topper, Boy Wizard' is the funniest thing I've read all year.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I know that these have been previously published in newspapers. I know that there are continuity errors. I know that some people are not happy about this. I do not care. I love Adrian Albert Mole in much the same way that he loves Pandora Braithwaite and always have. I have grown up with him and he has been a continuous source of joy for me for over twenty years of my life. Any additional material is always welcome.

Townsend's writing still has the ability to make me howl with laughter and I devour the books in a single sitting like a guilty pleasure.

Here Adrian is living in a council estate with his two sons, Glen and William whilst attempting to find a woman who can satisfy him intellectually and not wear blue eye liner. His parents still continue to be an eternal source of shame and his fledgeling novels Sty and Larry Topper languish in the rejected pile.

Plus ca change, plus la meme chose, and thank goodness for that.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
Just another superb Adrian Mole book from the late great Sue Townsend. Great for all ages and some really funny laugh out loud moments!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 September 2009
Along with a number of my contemporaries, I've grown up with Sue Townsend's creation Adrian Mole and his friends and family, so it's always pleasant to catch on what's been happening with his life. Apparently this book started its life as a newspaper column, which is kind of evident but doesn't really detract from the narrative. This novel follows Adrian through his 'early middle age' years - i.e. he's 33 and living with his teenage son Glenn Bott-Mole and his seven-year-old son from his ill-fated marriage, William on a sink estate in Leicester. Townsend is able to cast a wry eye over the early to middle years of Tony Blair's Government and uses Adrian's pretentiousness and priggish ways as a medium for social comment.

As usual with any Townsend book, there are a couple of hilarious moments which mostly centre about Adrian's naivity more than anything. I'm not sure if I liked the way the author wove herself into the story - I found it a bit distracting to be honest, but each to their own. I didn't find it as satisfying as the 'Weapons of Mass Destruction' book which chronologically follows this volume, but it's still an excellent read if you're a fan of Mole's bizarre world.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Diaries lost in moving, originally published in The Guardian, and as Adrian said, they were stolen by fraud Sue Townsend, who for a too long time is living like a parasite on his behalf.

What we have, therefore, missed. Infinite hypochondriac Adrian greeted the new millennium obsessed with potential illnesses, fruitless search for his part of cake and immersed in always interesting reflections on life. He entered into the thirties, occasionally employed, eternally dependent on his parents, the father of two sons conceived with different women and still fascinated by Pandora.

Apparently, the situation over the years has not changed too much. However, Adrian's glorious career as a writer is richer for two published cookbooks (which, as we will learn, he has not written). These two works are waiting for another three completely failed attempts of novels that sit in his desk drawer waiting for a rush of inspiration.

On the emotional level, Adrian continues to lose and, despite his undying love for Pandora, he is in an unstable relationship with the social worker Pamela Pigg, who like the entire world successfully revolves Adrian around her little finger. The only thing where he didn’t fail was rising of his distinctive sons.

The specificity of ' The Lost Diaries' as always, lies in the brilliant observation that the author is not afraid to criticize British society wherever she can, as well as her character which, despite many years of companionship and the occasional argument, she does not protect the least. Even in adulthood, Adrian world walk with a draft in his head, seemingly resistant to many failures, and at times completely unaware of them. Criticizing Tony Blair, Margaret Thatcher was acquitted of charges, while terrorist attack marked the atmosphere of the entire work. But not only policy found on the menu of this author with sharp tongue. The massive popularity of the Beckhams, obsession with Big Brother and Adrian's thinking about own sexuality are humorous supplements to characters which in these diaries are in a very turbulent relationships. Author ironically speaks about British health care system as well as about the relationship with literary agents with whom Adrian works with.

For a complete failure, a lost cause of lost cases, Adrian, according to the author, is still a good person who believes in the future success of his low quality novels. No matter how critical we are to his decisions and choices, we always go back to him. Some of us, in order that through his failure celebrate our success or diminish own misfortune, others in the hope that our friend from childhood is still waiting for his chance because what Adrian cannot be taken away is his perseverance to unquestioningly believe in his dreams. His passivity to achieve his dreams makes us angry and motivates us to read further, wondering what's in Adrian, but in ourselves, that makes us inconsistent.

That is why we never lose hope in Adrian, blindly hoping that his time will come, because while believing in his success, unconsciously we are cheering for our own.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2009
Having recently finished True Confessions of Adrian Mole, and giving it a low 3 star, I should say that LOST DIARIES is somewhat better, and I would give it at least 3.5 or 4 stars if I could.
The book is hilarious and as charming as usual, but as with "Confessions", "Weapons of Mass Destruction", and to some extent "Cappuccino Years" it still lacks that biting spark of social realism I felt the original books retained. These latest incarnations mirror some form of BBC sunday night comedy drama, they border on being too weird and unlikely compared to the first few volumes.
I wish she could bring back Pandora, Nigel and his other friends into the story more often as they only make cameo appearances here and there.
Of course, the downside to doing a "catch-up" book like this is that we already know what will and won't work for Adrian!
However, its still wonderfully witty and thoroughly deserves to do well. This is perfect fodder for a rainy day and will no doubt prove to be a cheering experience!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2009
I think the cricitism here is far too harsh. Yes, it's a shame about the continuity errors, but this IS a work of fiction. What is evident is that Sue Townsend's social/political satire remains spot-on. There are many laugh-out-loud moments. It's not a masterpiece ('Adrian Mole and the Weapons Of Mass Destruction' may well be, however), but it's a worthy addition to the Mole story. As for repeated plotlines, surely that's part of the point: Mole's life seems doomed to repeat itself (i.e. often ending up caring for elderly people, often falling for inappropriate women, taking on bizarre short-lived jobs, and so on). This is where much of the comedy comes from.

My only real criticism is Sue Townsend's annoying trick of inserting herself into the story. This looks like she's trying to be 'clever' for its own sake but it really falls flat. It's pointless and only undermines the brilliant creation that is Adrian Mole. Otherwise, this book is well worth a few happy hours of your life. If you have enjoyed the previous volumes you will like this one, too.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse