Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
181
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 April 2013
Ripper era investigation, extremely well thought out thriller with various sub plots and excellent main characters. Awaiting the next book from this author
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
Good book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
After seeing Ripper Street on tv thought I would try this book.
Took it on holiday and could not put it down. Soon got into the story and needed to find out what happens next.
Recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good thriller
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
Read some other reviews panning the book, while a can see its not a historical text book, its a good story, and fun.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I liked the setting and premise of this post-Ripper detective novel, but it just seemed to lack the spark I was looking for. It was also a little over-padded, and the action was slow in happening. The setting was mostly well done, except for the occasional jarring, out-of-place word or phrase - like a Scotland Yard detective in 1889 talking about victims needing 'closure' etc. I'd have thought that a competent editor would have weeded these things out, and have cut the 'filler'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
I've read quite a few of the reviews on this book and am quite frankly amazed. I always thought a good book was one where you could lose yourself in the story without dissecting every single paragraph, criticising the dialogue and this list just goes on and on.
I loved this book from start to finish and whether its historically correct, grammatically correct or whether its written by someone who isn't English doesn't really bother me, I just want to read something that takes me away from everyday life.
Look past the unfavourable reviews and give yourself a treat, I did and enjoyed every single page, so much so that I'm pre ordering The Black Country.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
wonderfulpage turner. Kept me reading and not wanting to put it down
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 October 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Alex Grecian's first novel 'The Yard' is a gripping thriller set in the early days of forensic crime detection of Victorian London.
Although the plot is pretty basic and the murderer is revealed early on, the detailed descriptions of everyday life through the perspectives of a variety of characters help make this book a great read. The main characters of Day and Hammersmith, policemen who are involved in the case, are genuinely likeable and their colleague Dr Bernard Kingsley's radical ideas such as using finger printing help the story move along at a fast pace so the reader soon forgets that it stretches to over 500 pages. At only a few chapters in I found the book difficult to put down and would recommend it to everyone who enjoys crime novels. hfs
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2016
Could not put it down excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
Really liked this book and will definitely read more from this author. Liked the idea of short chapters which always made me read just one more. The characters and description of the Victorian era were well reviewed and the plot(s) were captivating.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse