Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
94
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 June 2017
This book is a pleasure to read. Andrew Graham-Dixon takes the art of collecting factual knowledge into a fine story so that through the present time we get a living impression of this artist without the poetry or imagination taking over. At one point, I mean A G-D, loses focus, that's where he fancies Caravaggio's possible secondary occupation as an pimp. There are too vague arguments for the theory, and I think clergy patrons would accept a great artist living in their residence being a troublemaker, but not being a pimp. I also lack references to the planks in the text.
But it's detail, the story is amazing and the description of the pictures radiates an artistic knowledge and feel that makes the pictures in a way so that you almost feel the intensity, pain, joy the artist himself must have experienced.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2017
Agoid book , safely delivered .Thank you .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2017
Outstanding.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2017
thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Dixon has a lot of nice theorins of Carravagio life. Facinating Reading. Too bad that the pictures in the book are so small.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
Informative and had great pleasure reading it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
Brilliantly written. If the reader did not know anything about Carsvaggio,after reading this book he would be an expert
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
A wonderful book, delivered on time and as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have always enjoyed reading Andrew Graham-Dixon's books, as well as watching his many TV series on different subjects or themes. Knowing very little about Caravaggio I looked forward with some anticipation to this book. And I'm pleased to say reading it has been a richly rewarding experience. I read in an article earlier this year that the author had been working on this project for a decade. The depth and breadth of research is evident throughout the book, as is Andrew Graham-Dixon's passion for the artist. This is an immensely enjoyable and informative read and I have to disagree with the harsh criticsm meted out by the Guardian's reviewer, such as: "There's a certain dour academic propriety to his [Andrew G-D] reading of the man";" it's a little depressing to be told that Caravaggio was not a violent whoremongering wastrel". It is a well researched, well written and is a revealing account of the artist's life and his work so ignore these negative comments and instead read it and come to your own conclusions.
0Comment| 131 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)