Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 October 2013
Dull. Dully written. Meh! Wanted to like it, really couldn't keep on reading it.... Very disappointing all round. Sorry, Guy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
In this book you can find what enchantment means to Guy. The entire book is about it. This book wasn't neccesary
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2011
Guy's style is simple, hugely interesting, honest, and loaded with stories we can all relate to. In typical 'Apple Fashion' Enchantment sets out some easy to follow rules that will change both your personal outlook and your business outlook on people, products, and services.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2011
Guy Kawasaki always delivers the goods and Enchantment is no exception.
Well written and put together, this book is a must for everyone who wants to enchant.
5* - 2 thumbs up. Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2011
Excellent manifesto on how to make your business successful by applying the likability, trustworthiness, and a great cause pillars. Well worth the read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2011
Buy this book if you want to make a difference, if you want to engage people better at home or at work, if you want to deliver a great customer / client experience! I have no vested interest, as I had never even heard of Guy Kawasaki until a few weeks ago (my bad). I read an article about him and Enchantment in the March 2011 issue of British Airways inflight business magazine and something clicked. But I'm a skeptic when it comes to business books and haven't bought one for many years - it takes far too long to sort the single grain of wheat from the thousands of bits of chaff. But the `click' persisted so on my next flight I took down the details and ordered the book. I have now read it twice in the week since it arrived and have already ordered several copies for clients / friends. I'm Enchanted. It's practical, clear, doable stuff. And yes there are `obvious' things that we think we do well (but have probably forgotten, or fallen into bad habits) and there's some other neat stuff to point us in the right direction. I run a successful small business and we do a lot of this stuff - but we will now do it better. However, if you're a cynic, already perfect or simply don't care, then it's not for you!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have read and reviewed all of Guy Kawasaki's previous books. This book's title caught my eye because it suggests - and as it turned out, correctly - that its material and Kawasaki's presentation of it would be significantly different from, for example, Reality Check (2008). In that book, he focuses almost entirely on how to outsmart, outmanage, and outmarket one's competition. Would he now explain how to outenchant them also?

Indeed he does, and brilliantly, as always. The title of each of Chapters 2-12 begins with a "How to" and then in the text Kawasaki explains how to achieve likeability (Chapter 2), trustworthiness (3), prepare (4), launch (5), overcome resistance (6), make enchantment endure (7), use push technology (8), use pull technology (9), enchant your employees (10), enchant your boss (11), and resist [unethical and/or inappropriate] enchantment (12). Once again, Kawasaki - the pragmatic idealist and empirical visionary with an abundance of street smarts -- is determined to explain what works, what doesn't, and why.

As he explains, enchantment can occur anywhere and "causes a voluntary change of hearts and minds and therefore actions. It is more than manipulating people to help you get your way. Enchantment transforms situations and relationships. It converts hostility into civility. It reshapes civility into affinity. It changes skeptics and cynics into believers."

When enchanted, we transcend whatever the given circumstances may be, conveyed by emotions back through time (via fond memories) and/or conveyed by the same emotions into the future (via joyful anticipation and fantasy). The enchanter could be anyone or anything that casts a spell (albeit temporary) that protects us from fear, doubt, distress, and even grief. Kawasaki suggests that we need enchantment most when aspiring to lofty, idealistic goals as well as when making especially difficult decisions, overcoming entrenched habits, defying a crowd, or proceeding despite delayed or nonexistent feedback.

As indicated, he alerts his reader in Chapter 12 to beware of "charmers" whose purposes are self-serving, often unethical, and sometimes illegal. Their resources include temptation, deception, evasion, and ambiguity. "Not everyone is an ethical enchanter, and even ethical enchanters can convince you to do something that's not in your best interest." That's a key point. Kawasaki advises his reader to avoid tempting situations, to look beyond immediate gratification, to beware of "pseudo salience" (e.g. "they say"), not to fall for "the example of one" (i.e. believing that a compelling example is the rule rather than the exception or aberration), to defy the crowd (e.g. resist social acceptance defined by a "crowd mentality"), and to track previous decisions (ask "What happened when I [or someone else] did it before?"). Kawasaki recommends creating a checklist and offers an example on Page 181.

Readers will appreciate the provision of "My Personal Story" vignettes throughout the narrative. In each, someone in a situation with with most readers can identify shares personal experience relevant to the given chapter's subject. Kawasaki is wise as well as shrewd to anchor his insights strategically in a human context.

Most of what Kawasaki has written about in previous books focuses primarily on issues of greatest importance to organizational success and how individuals can help to achieve it. Long ago, Oscar Wilde observed, "Be yourself. Everyone else is taken." In this book, Kawasaki focuses almost entirely on explaining how almost anyone can increase personal fulfillment through ethical application of an "art" whose power can change others' hearts, minds, and actions and (key point) do so in their best interests. In this context, the enchanter is a servant leader as Robert Greenleaf defines the term, an authentic leader as Bill George defines the term, and a results-driven leader as Guy Kawasaki defines the term.

If asked to recommend one book that should be read by anyone now preparing for a business career or who has only recently embarked on one, I would suggest two: Reality Check and Enchantment.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2016
interesting reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2011
Here is a synopsis of this book:
Do you own an Apple product?
Do you like it?

You've just been enchanted.

The basic idea is that if you are nice and have good ideas people will get on board; if you aren't or do not there is nothing in this book that will teach you, and the text is peppered with shocking stories and examples showing the author has minimal experience working with real people and real businesses but has no problems making broad sweeping assumptions.

Don't bother.

One star only as no stars is not an option.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2011
I know Guy's skills as a writer from the past, and I have to admit that here he has been working in one of his strong areas. I would recommend this book for anybody who needs to promote/sell a new idea, product or concept. I especialy liked the various personal stories in the end of each chapter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)