Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
67
4.5 out of 5 stars
The Roses of No Man's Land
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.26+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 20 April 2014
Very easy to read and very informative. Gives a really good outline to the main events of Britain's participation in WWI whilst focusing on the medical teams. Loving every page of it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2016
Very informative and well written. Not really to my taste as it was very much a documentary of the nurses and their experiences and I much preferred Vera Brittain's Testament of Youth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
Lyn MacDonald's painstaking research has yielded a wonderful account of the contribution made by so many dedicated young women to caring for wounded soldiers in World War I.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2015
Not finished it yet. But it was highly recommended and I am enjoying it - although I am not sure that enjoying is the right term for this subject
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2015
Very interesting stories. The Nurses did not get enough thanks. Someone should write about the Australian Nurses in Greece and Turkey 1915
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2015
Had hoped it would have had more about the nurses during WW1 but it concentrated more on the actual war, but still an interesting read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2009
The Roses of No Man's Land A first rate account of volunteer nurses and medical techniques of the first world war.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
This was not an easy read. There were times when I was in floods of tears, and most of the time I was just totally awed by the heroism of the women described. That they themselves were so very matter-of-fact, that they took the long hours (as in 20, 22 hour shifts), the horrors they dealt with, the appalling conditions (many of them lived in bell tents) and the strain, the heavy responsibilities hey were given, for granted, made me feel rather small.

Told through letters and diaries, this book gives you a very immediate sense of what it was like working in the various casualty clearing stations, field hospitals and general hospitals, not just on the Western front but on the Eastern front and back home in Blighty. The logistics are both amazing and appalling. The sheer volume of casualties is unimaginable. And yet what comes shining through here (and I warn you now, I'm going to use a cliché) is the triumph of the human spirit. Truly.

I've read lots and lots of books on the subject of the Great War. This is one of the best. Not just because of the mass of detail, personal anecdotes that make the detail memorable, and the volume of fascinating medical facts which show the real progress medicine made because of the war, but because of the people themselves. They blew me away. I would really, really like to know how they coped with peace. That would make a fascinating follow-up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
Fascinating insight into the work of nursing and medical personnel in WW1. Shows the amazing courage of both staff and patients.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
This book was a gift for a friend, who is a retired nurse and interested in WW1 events. She told me this was an excellent read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)