Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Out of Africa (Penguin Essentials)
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 May 2015
I adored this book. I love Blixen's style. Maybe it comes from English not being her first language, but it is refreshingly correct, unaffected and deeply poetic. She has impressive powers of observation whether for people or nature. Not for you if you are looking for the prurient details of a decadent group of ex pats (I have read them elsewhere!), but enthralling for her understanding of the world around her - she at least took the time to engage with the local population. It shouldn't be necessary to mention it, but values and social mores have changed a lot since Blixen's day and it would be foolish to judge according to today's standards. Suffice to say, with the ensuing uprisings and burning of property, Blixen's farm was left unscathed.

This book is a jewel and I join the ranks of those who cannot understand why it was not more lauded as an important work of literature.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 October 2017
I call this an odd version due to finding it quite different from the film so maybe I am not being fair to say that? The film was wonderful but then I spent so many years around East Africa ,admittedly later than Karen's time, that I actually started crying watching it. Personal maybe so hopefully others will enjoy the book. The countryside comes to life in this book,she glosses over her personal intimate life with her lover.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2014
What a beautiful place Africa is. The book took me back to Karen Blixen's farm i visited on one of my trips to kenya. She is a wonderful writer, almost poetic. Have enjoyed reading this book and will be reading it again. If you have a kindle i would recommend you download a sample to read before purchase it might not be for everyone.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 July 2016
Loved reading this book whilst on Safari in Africa I finished reading it at home the pictures and images the book creates helped sustain my memories of Africa ,the vastness ,the animals the people and the rainbows on the hills the history ,loved the book Like the author part. of my heart will

.always belong their in Africa
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2015
read this year& years ago when it first came out but then past it onto a friend and have regretted it ever since and then I saw this i'm really looking forward to being transported to Africa again I can highly recommend this book if you want to immerse yourself into a time long ago in a far off country it's a great read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2017
Karen Blixen is a artist of words, painting pictures as she goes. One of those books you can read and read again over the years ~(which I have)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 October 2013
This really evokes the spirit of the Kenyan landscape and Blixen's tenacious spirit. Her relationship with the locals is well drawn and reflects the time in which the novel is set, so can't really be viewed through a 'post -colonial lense'. The narrative is strong and captivating, and even though Blixen can be irritating at times there is no doubting her strength of character. Having visited her house in Karen recently (yes, they named the town after her) a re-reading of the book only serves to confirm how much she captured something of the spirit of Africa.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 December 2013
The author is probably the most enigmatic character I have ever encountered. The absolutely superb film "Out of Africa" whetted my appetite, and I expected the book to follow closely the film's storyline. But it doesn't. It is the most remarkable description of a whiteperson's experiences with a huge number of African men, women and children before, during and after World War I- those she employed on her farm and many others, from destitute villagers to African chiefs. Her desriptions of these people is so remarkable that each person can be visualised extraordinarily well.
Only towards the end of the book does she really mention the events which are the mainstay of the film and even then the reader is surprised to find that they nowhere near tally.
Nothing is neatly tied up at the end: the reader is left with a mass of questiions, which makes the book even more fascinating
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2018
Beautiful and yet spare prose. Clear and fresh without being over sentimental. It gives a rich and colourful portrait of a continent and a lifestyle that no longer exists.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 January 2018
Beautifully Written Book and valuable addition to my collection. Thank You!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse