Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
225
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I'm sure a lot of you have been hearing the term hygge (pronounced HUE-ga) used quite a lot recently and if you are still unsure what it is, then I shall attempt to explain. Hygge is the Danish word for enjoying life's simple pleasures. This could be spending time with friends and family, getting all cosy at home with candles and a good book or enjoying good food. Basically it cannot be translated into one word, but this wonderful little book helps to illustrate exactly how you can make your life more hygge.

This is such a stunning little book. The design on the outside is reflected throughout and there are some additional beautiful photographs that I literally could have just stared at for hours. I am even going to go ahead and state the obvious that the book was the epitome of hygge. It was just such a lovely book to get all cosy with on these dark and chilly evenings.

It's reading this that you can really see just why the Danish are said to be the happiest people in the world. When can I move to Denmark?!

One of the main parts of hygge is candles and in Denmark they burn the most candles per head in Europe and by quite a large margin. I went through a stage of not liking candles and now I could not live without them, so I completely understand why they are so popular.

What also makes this book extra special is that it gives you little tips on how to make your life more hygge. There's a brilliant chapter on what to do each month that is very hygge, and other brilliant and simple ideas throughout. They are such simple, easy to do ideas and they don't break the bank either. I have already planned a movie night in with my boyfriend.

As usual when I love a book so much, I never feel my review does it justice! Just know that The Little Book of Hygge is a must-have on your bookshelf and it also makes for the perfect gift. Now I'm off to live in Denmark.
0Comment| 292 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2016
The BEST of all the books about Hygge - and I've bought four in the past week! Lovely.
11 Comment| 114 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2016
Brilliant book, a feelgood read, with lots of ideas of how to create hygge in your own life.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2016
An absolutely beautiful book that I read cover to cover in just one day. A perfect mix of humour, beautiful writing and interesting information. I can't recommend this book enough!
0Comment| 64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2016
Girlfriend seemed happy when I gave it to her, she seems a bit happier too, not sure if it's to do with the hygge or her change of meds.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2016
Explains wonderfully how the simple things in life create happiness- It's not rocket science - but fascinating how the Danes have embedded this into their culture because it is so important . Loved it.
0Comment| 59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2016
Perhaps fittingly this is the sort of book that needs to be purchased as a physical book. The kindle version was all disconnected pictures and passages of 200-400 words per page with lots of white space. It offers brief introductions to hygge essentials which might be nice as a gift or a coffee table flick-through. As an informative read the content was only so-so. Hygge is not a difficult concept to understand, it has been sold to the British middle-classes for a few years now. Wooden floors, wood burners, fire pits, home baking, designer candles, Scandi home furnishing, Heinz adverts to warm the cockles of your heart and Nigel Slater with simple supper recipes to share with friends from rustic earthenware crockery. If this middle-class wet dream is your sort of thing try an issue of 'The Simple Things' magazine, you'd love it. Yes catching up with friends in a cozy environment is great, candles are lovely and sweets/cakes are always welcome (although I'm not sure you'd be living well or that long if you indulged too often) and I don't think you need to tell Brits about the importance of a hot drink between friends. I guess my issue with the whole obsession with Denmark, Hygge and happiness is that the reason they are so happy is because they have an more equal society with free healthcare, an excellent welfare system, better working culture and better wealth redistribution through tax. To be fair the book does make this very point at the beginning. So when the British middle-classes want to recreate Danish living here in the UK they arguably need to do a bit more than installing a woodburner and having a cake and games night with friends. I really believe Hygge in the UK is nothing more than a marketing tool, selling the Danish dream through expensive knitwear and light fittings, without the pesky tax hikes or being nice to poor people. This book buys into all that fakery. If you want to show off to all your friends how Danish and hygge you are, great buy this book. If you really want real hygge, invite your friends around, feed them whatever is in the fridge, have chat over a cuppa and take time to really consider those for whom hygge is the least of their concerns. Do check out the free report on Danish happiness available at the authors Happiness Research Institue website, it is much more enlightening than this book and shows that the UK has some fundamental changes to make if we really want to go Danish. However, this report paradoxically shows that the Danish are not 'living well' in terms of health. If anything hygge has left the Danish nation in suprisingly poor health. Staying in all the time, indulging in the nicer things in life with friends, has it's downside.
1919 Comments| 367 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2016
A very pretty, gorgeously designed little book. It’s small but chunky (slightly smaller than A5) and a treat to read. It has a cosy, warming feeling and (be warned) makes you want to buy lots of candles.

Not a deep read, and quick to finish, but still a treat.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2016
This was a fascinating read. It's changed my home for the better!
review image
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2016
Quite odd, reading a book that describes my childhood and young womanhood in the UK! Open fires, board games, hot chocolate and cake with no guilt because we walked and cycled everywhere.The time before loads of TV channels, the internet and mobile phones. But I suppose if you are younger and haven't experienced a technology "free" life it does sound like a concept to be embraced and worked towards. It is an interesting book and quite amusing in places.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)