Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 September 2017
I saw this in bookshops many times before I decided to read it. I'm glad I did. It tells the story of a world leading IT/media even political conglomerate, trying to take over the world all for the very best of reasons.

I learned to read from my father's collection of late forties and early fifties SF magazines, mainly Analog and Astounding and I remember an editorial by John W Campbell The Best of John W. Campbell who edited both Astounding and then, when it changed its name to Analog, then Analog as well, in one of his editorials he wrote about the possibility of a 'benign Hitler' (ie a Dictator who takes control of the world for all the best reasons to make things better).

This book points toward an answer and does so in a human manner without browbeating the reader.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2017
I don't review books often at all. But it's worth steering unwitting readers in the right direction - unless you want a masterclass in how to disengage your reader. For creative writers, it's the perfect study in crap narrative. There are so many faults with this book. But the biggest crime is/was the media hype and the reviews. I picked it up on the recommendation that it was 'the 1984 for the digital nomad generation'. This is utter rubbish. Comparing Orwell with this Eggers book, it's unfathomable.

- the protagonist is dim, vacuous and painful to listen to
- the 'action' is few and far between; for example, there are pages where the protagonist replies to e-mails
- the foreshadowing is pretty obvious

I recommend reading the 1* review written by Brad on Goodreads. That guy nails it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2017
Great thriller of modern times and fears. Although at times a little overly descriptive this book had me cringing, smiling, worrying, laughing and just keeping on reading. A great version of Orwell for the modern era. We are being watched!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2017
The Circle is a "speculative fiction" as Atwood would call it and asks the question: what would happen essentially if the internet was no longer anonymous? Of course there are many other questions asked however this one seems to be key and the answers revealed are pretty terrifying and insidious. The novel smoulders throughout with a sense of brooding claustrophobia.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2017
This was a really intriguing read right up to the end which was hurried and disappointing. I can see where the writer was heading with his message about the lure of a linked up society turning into the matrix. But the main character was really mundane and would never see the bigger picture. I'd rather take the red pill.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2017
The main character is so painfully naive as to be unbelievable, Sex scenes were pointless and seemed shoehorned in. The big twist occurred to me pretty near the beginning. The author seems to think that Leeds and Manchester are the same place. Apart from all that... it's OK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2017
The overall concept of this book is brilliant - look critically at the growth and acceleration of the social networks of today coupled with the consumer drive for technology like smartphones, fitness trackers and other home tech. Put them altogether and this book imagines a world where information is king and those who build the quickest virtual bridges win.
A great read and could not put it down.
A terrifying glimpse of our always on future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2017
This book is just brilliant! Not only is the story written in a compelling voice, but it also makes you think: the story is disturbing because you can see how this kind of thing could actually take place. Every single person should read this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
A brilliant portrayal of a dystopian utopia, a satirical allegory of the digital world we live in and willingly participate in, and what can happen when we get sucked into the morass. Plenty to relate to, scarily real at times and the totalitarian premise could be a few years down the road if unfettered access isn't reined in regarding privacy and the right to anonymity if we so desire. A gripping page-turner and reading it in digital format compounded the irony.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2017
I thought this was brilliant! Couldn't stop talking about during the 5 days I hungrily read through it.

Also, it was so ahead of its time as live video etc is now readily consumed today.

Interested to see the movie adaption later in the year...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse