Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 21 March 2016
Heard john being interviewed on radio 2. What an interesting man I thought so I ordered his book. I was gripped for most of it. His early life was so captivating.He was a good lad at heart. I kept thinking he was going to sort himself out, be a good Catholic, then he'd do something stupid and end up back in trouble though he never did anything too bad.The book lost my attention somewhat when he began to be successful. It just seemed to rush along to the publishing of the big issue. Glad I read it though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 October 2013
Love this guys story anyway, have all three books (every unemployed person should read this for inspiration), or get for a present to motivate someone. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 January 2017
For a used edition very good a present for a friend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2015
love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2015
terrific read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 February 2015
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 April 2016
Great book many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 November 2012
Enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 March 2010
John Bird is famous for being the editor of the Big Issue. The book sets it streight that John did not actually "create" the big issue but was given the job of editor by the social entrepreneur Gordon Roddick who wanted someone for the job who had experienced homelessness first hand.

Although John Bird's life is an interesting one the book leaves more questions than answers. It's not made clear why he went off the rails and chose to start sleeping in a cement shed as a kid and why he took so long to sort his life out as an adult. The book also describes, but makes no attempt to explore, the criminal and antisocial behaviour that characterised his life into his late 20s meaning that it often reads like a list of unexplained misdemeanours which suddenly end when he sets up a successful printing business.

Perhaps the most important ommission is any sense of what John Bird actually thinks about issues like homelessness, delinquency, social and personal breakdown etc, so anyone buying the book in order to hear his views on what should be done to tackle social problems will be sorely dissappointed.

The book's strengths are John's writing style, which is very easy to follow, and it is a good documentary of what it was like to grow up in a poor family in 1950s London but for people wanting something that touches in any depth on social issues you will probably get more from buying a copy of the Big Issue than from reading about the life of its editor.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2005
It is indeed a decent read but it drops a star because the paperback version (at least the one I possess) has a glaring typographical error on the cover ! Is this possible ? Is my edition special ? Am I going loopy ? I cannot imagine, for one second, how on earth such a mistake could be allowed to happen !

But anyway, if you can get over something so upsetting as that then you'll enjoy it.

FV
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here