Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
156
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£25.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 April 2017
Don't waste your cash. Disappointed. It's a swing between actualities and imaginings interspersed with lots of how great Nash is. No substance padded obtrusively with swear words written purely because that's the way he talks, I suppose! My grandfather used to say that if you have to use swear words to pad out your conversation that you are either ignorant or have nothing interesting to say and he really doesn't, unless he's stroking his own ego, which is very high maintenance, he likes to do that with amazing regularity. Tedious in the extreme. I can see why Messrs. Young and Crosby are not impressed with this memoir! Mr Nash's ego is the size of Manchester and consequently needs feeding regularly by telling everyone how good looking, talented, amazing he thinks he is on every other page! As I say spend your cash on something worth the reading, like Neil Young's Autobiography or Croz's...they knock this one into fits!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
I wanted a book for behind the Scenes of a Rock band,after seeing about eight Trucks on the Motorway,with a group's gear on board.and this book came up,Wow, I had heard of The Hollies.but didn't know anything about them,but what a story,so many Icons, from the Late sixties to today,Names I had heard of,but being 50 +, not really my thing,fascinating, now starting to look up Their Music. What a Historic ride ,good and bad· I will now recommend, this book to some music loving friends and family .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
Love Graham Nash, brilliant book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
Excellent book and gives a clear account of the history of the Hollies which is not found elsewhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
A+
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
A very interesting book from Mr Nash. Certainly worth a tenner on Kindle Store.

I don't agree with much of his politics, or views on alternative energy etc., but I do think that Graham Nash is a decent human being in that he cares for his fellow man in the global sense.

Key points are largely covered well, although the split with the Hollies could do with another couple of pages. He never really explains his relationship with Allan Clarke between 1968 and 1983. Did they speak at all? Glad to see that all is well now though.

Throughout Nash is generous towards others and gives credit where credit's due (Allan and the rest of the Hollies, for example). He is often very honest about his own failings and dubious motivations, and some of his personal contradictions. This is refreshing, and makes the book a good, balanced read. There is a bit too much 'poor boy from Manchester made good' but it is sincerely felt, I think.

The big selling CSN(Y) albums are well-documented, but the lesser selling ones don't always make it. The important 1988 reunion, American Dream, is glossed over too quickly for my liking. How did Stephen Stills get to pollute that album with some real stinkers?

If you're a Neil Young fan, take note that he comes out of this book VERY badly! Nash portrays an immensely talented but totally, totally selfish man. And it's believable! For the most part, Nash is generous - and sometimes brutally honest - about all the characters here, but the final swipe at Neil Young on the last page is stinging and, I am sure, is what he really feels about him.

David Crosby is obviously a great, great friend, but Nash does not spare David's blushes in any way shape or form! A total mess for much of his life it seems, and not a pleasant person on the surface.

The OBE is a mystery for several reasons: Nash doesn't seem to know the person nominating him at all, which is odd. More importantly, Graham makes no attempt to explain why, as an American citizen of some 30 years AND a constant critic of the Establishment/Global Corporations/people in power generally, he would want to be honoured by the Queen in this way?! Instead, it's more 'imagine this poor boy from Manchester meeting the Queen!' sentiment.

So, all in all, Nash comes across as the decent human being you probably always suspected he was, despite his sometimes sermonising music. On paper, his worldview and politics are somehow less grating than on stage!

This is a good read for anyone interested in US/UK rock pop scene in the 1960s and 1970s.

One final warning: Strong language throughout (for no good reason I can think of!) He may be 71 but he's going on 12 on this evidence....why the publisher let it through is anyone's guess. It doesn't add anything: he can tell a good story without it.
1818 Comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2015
This is a very enjoyable and easy read and should appeal to all CSNY fans. The style is everyday and engaging, although perhaps too much use of the "f-word" for my taste. This book suffers from the same problems as many similar volumes in that it addresses some events/incidents in detail but skates over others or never mentions them at all. In this book there are several examples of contradictions and inconsistencies which I found hard to overlook. Additionally,too often, after describing a difficult gig or situation Graham states, "Somehow I/we managed to ........." So explanations are often not provided. This of course may be due to the copious amounts of drugs which CSN increasingly used as they became more successful. This also begs the usual question, namely, how accurate and credible are the "Wild Tales" described if the guys were all coked to the eyeballs, sometimes for days at a time ? At times I found this book to be just a bit too full of self-praise and self-congratulation, especially when relating how well a gig went. This aside, Graham has written an entertaining account of his life and I found it to be an engrossing read and one which I read very quickly. Considering his humble beginnings Graham has achieved and contributed a lot both as an artist and as a human being. His work for good causes is well documented and this book reveals the immense support he gave ( and continues to give ) to his partner in crime, David Crosby. Well worth purchasing if you can get it at a good price.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2015
I approached this book warily, as, although I like some of CSNY's output, they seemed to epitomise the end of the hippie dream, coming to prominence just as the drugs turned hard, and idealism gave way to selfishness, ego and bloated lifestyles. And this book only reinforces that view. Mr Nash has lived a very privileged life for a long time, and this leads to unintentional hilarity on occasion - e.g., on being asked to meet a Property Magnate in Hawaii at 8 in the morning: "Let me tell you, eight o'clock in the morning was pretty interesting. If you've never seen it before, you ought to give it a try. Once." Well, Mr Nash, we poor sods who never got to lounge around and take mountains of cocaine, get to see eight o'clock most mornings!

It's also quite a sad book, in that, when they ought to have been at their peak in the 70's, CSNY seemingly never had the discipline or structure to fulfil their initial potential. It's really only Neil Young who has managed to shake off this post-hippie legacy and go on to produce interesting and challenging work. And, obviously, he comes out of the book badly by walking out on CSNY whenever things weren't to his liking.

However, having said all that, it's an interesting and seemingly honest read, particularly when it comes to the cocaine craziness of Messrs. Stills and Crosby, even though it reads like it was transposed directly from voice recordings, with its strange mix of English and US slang, and liberal use of 4-letter words.

Probably for true fans only.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2016
Very disappointing, I do not recommend this book. It is written by an Englishmen in his seventies, you would be forgiven for thinking it was written by an American youth. I'm afraid I abandoned it half way. Graham Nash comes across as egocentric, narcissistic, hedonistic and thinks he is the most wonderful musician/artist /sculptor etc etc. I found myself becoming more and more irritated by him. I'm sorry to say but he is rather a shallow person, only interested in himself. Recently in the press, he has described Dave Crosby as being "awful", frankly he needs to take a long look at himself before he casts aspersions on his fellow musicians. I am sorry I wasted money on buying this drivel.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
I liked this book although through it you can imagine Graham Nash speaking in his phoney half American accent. But I did read it quickly so it was good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)