Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2013
Had to hunt around for the files to download. I registered for the website weeks ago. Nothing. Sent two emails asking when will they authorise my new account for the website. Nothing.

The book is for intermediate, not beginners like myself. They skip over so much in even the opening tutorials that I have given up now, and am just going to go the the official 3ds Max channel on Youtube and just go through all of their tutorials.

I'm sure the book is beneficial, especially to the people who bought the older version, with a DVD, and who can join the website. But for me, very disappointed.

Avoid.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2011
I'd avoid buying this book if you want things explained to you in detail. The majority of each chapter is basically set out step by step but the trouble is there's no explanation to a lot of things. You tend to be sat reading through it and you start to think "well, WHY? did you do that?". The reference images are not much help either because they jump to far ahead rather than showing it in small steps what is to be done. I'd rather stick with internet tutorials that are free and usually offer a comments section where people can query something.
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
First off, there IS stuff missing and this is clearly a book that's aimed at people who know the absolute basics of 3DS Max.

Never used 3DS Max before? Go follow some tutorials on YouTube or 3D-sphere.com and check back when you're comfortable with the interface and hotkeys.

Secondly, the people saying "the website doesn't work" - check here:
[...]
(First result off Google.)
The missing files can be downloaded off their forums.

If you have a problem with any of the steps/instructions in the book... chances are, someone on their forums has had the same problems too and has posted about it.

TL;DR The forums will save you a lot of headaches.

It's not a cheap book, but there's some good tutorials + information in there... if you're willing to give it time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2011
I felt some details were remiss but if followed from cover-to-cover, by each tutorial one will have developed enough understanding to fill in most details in future.

You'll get plenty of insight of how things work and how one should approach creating assets, etc.
Beginning with a basic tutorial, leading onto more advanced techniques such as normal mapping;
by the end you should feel entirely more confident to attempt your own endeavours. Mind you, since it is a book, it lacks the nuances that only a video tutorial can illuminate.

Either way, recommended for novices and elites (transfering or focusing their skill in an established manner, elites know that there are almost inifinite ways to achieve the same things from bad to excellent, from my experience, the book's techniques are excellent).

Good book, good supporting material (although my 3DS max 2010 could not open the given files so be warned).

Well written, clear and as concise as a possible.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
When I got this book I had high hopes. Because taken at face value, it looks pretty promising as it's full of colour pictures, it was written by a Briton, which isn't the case with most of these 3D books, and it appeared to be well laid out. But...and this is a BIG but...after starting to read it I quickly saw it's limitations. As others have pointed out, the author has not included important steps and information which will hinder anyone without prior knowledge of the software from finishing the tutorials. This is especially evident with chapter 3, when trying to texture the Floor Buffer that you have to build, the book does not tell you how to properly lay out the image maps after you UV Unwrap them. Someone mentioned about doing digging and using free videos from a certain website (You know the one) along with the book. BUT...doing so, will only highlight the flaws of this book even more. As often, the free videos will show the viewer ALL the steps neccesary to complete building models - And you can even message the person who put up the video with your queries. So why bother with this book? Don't!

I noticed that the forum which supposedly supports this book, has messages on it which are 3 years old!
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
the headline says it all. It's great for beginners in the 3ds max world. it's very easy to understand, andrew gahan really knows about this, his portfolio is awesome
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2015
fast delivery and good quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2015
good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)