Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 September 2017
Great book which I have not yet finished, though I have thumbed through the contents.

I'm a professional photographer and always looking to improve my game and get new ideas for shoots.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2015
Not as practical as I hoped, really for students working on first principals. While scientifically interesting, language is verbose and heavy weather and in practice several manual techniques to resolve awkward light would be more easily resolved with now sophisticated post processing software than faffing with gobo shadows on a set. Sorry not for me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2016
I love learning about light . There is a newer version . This looks very comprehensive and easy and fun to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 1999
Anyone intimidated or confused by the subject of artificial/studio lighting must read this book. Very well prepared and very objective. The author describes how lighting WORKS, not how HE does it. Text is filled with numerous example photos and lighting diagrams. No experience with lighting is necessary to appreciate this book, but a solid photography background and a little understanding of physics helps. Top Notch.
11 Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2012
This is a brilliant book on lighting. The authors have managed to strike a balance between the highly technical and the "too easy". The information presented has to be absorbed and applied. I used this book like a textbook. I made notes and added my own observations. Once you diligently work through the book, the magic does happen :)

I loved the chapters on photographing different types of materials such as glass and metal. It has really increased my confidence as a photographer and has given me the motivation to try new ways of lighting and setups. The knowledge contained in this book can be applied to all types of photography, even macro.

Highly recommended!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2014
This is a superb book that is easy to read and very informative. If you want to understand and apply photographic lighting, then this is THE BOOK to buy.

It is called "An introduction..." but that under-sells it. Really it is everything that you need to know but explained so simply that anyone can understand it. It has excellent illustrations. I am a chartered Illuminating Engineer of over 40 years experience and the book is technically spot on. Above all, it is fun to read.

If you are a keen photographer, buy this book. It does not matter whether you use natural light, available light, artificail lighting , studio lighting or flash, this book will enable you to get the best results.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2016
I've had previous versions of this book and all of them have been fantastic. While it's really aimed at studio/product photography the infomation can be used in all kinds of photography. It is quite in depth and sometimes seems overly complicated but when putting the things you learn into practice you soon see the reason for it.
it is the book I would recommend most to people wanting to learn about using lights or how to photograph difficult subjects like glass and metal.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 December 2013
Interested in photography? This book is one that should adorn your photo library. It's technical, requires that you give each chapter thought and frankly, play along. When techniques are discussed try them out and discover realtime what the authors teach you. It's the best way of learning short of having each of the writers in front of you.

In summary, whether you're at the first stages of your photographic interest or a seasoned pro, there's something in here for everyone and none should be so proud to say 'I know it all.'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2016
Good book arrived on time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2012
This is a very good book I am thoroughly enjoying reading it, it is written in laymans language and very easy to understand. It goes into detail with very simple diagrams of where to to put lights etc. It is though I believe, a book that must be read form cover to cover rather than picking out chapters , unless of course you already know all about the family of angles etc, as they all lead on to each other. I would highly recommend this book to any one learning to light .Light Science and Magic: An Introduction to Photographic Lighting
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)