Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 28 April 2009
This is an excellent advanced reference book which I bought because I like Martin Evening's writing. Some beginners (not all) may well find it a bit intimidating and you need to be familiar with basic operations in Photoshop to make use of it.
It consists of a selection of advanced techniques that the authors have found useful over a long period as professional photographers. So, it is a book to dip into rather than read from cover to cover.
The first proper section on general methods of improving captured image quality should be read by anyone, whatever their interest, as should the last but one on printing.
The middle sections cover things like masking, retouching and compositing. As an amateur, I may never have any of the projects that they illustrate but the techniques will be invaluable.
Anyone who has been driven mad trying to make a selection (or mask)for fine detail will find the techniques for masking hair worth the price of the book.
This book demands work from the reader. If you have a task for Photoshop, you need to look for a similar task and its solution and work out how to apply their solution to your problem. You will not find canned step by step solutions to your problems. I find that it is worth the effort.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2009
Not a book for reading cover to cover but excellent for dipping into to sort out problems of using this complex software package.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2017
Book in good condition ready to study
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2017
As described. No complaints
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 December 2010
advanced photoshop skill for photographers, if you are a photographer, with this book your skill could jump to the next higher step ... do it !!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 April 2009
After just reading martins book on CS4 this new book with Jeff Schewe has been very helpful and a very good companion. At last I am now beginning to get into and fully understand "smart objects" and "smart filters" especially combining them with the RAW 5.3 dialogue box.The DVD makes it very good value.Jeff Schewe's tutorials on Capture sharpening in RAW have been enlightening.All you need to buy now after these two books is Jeff Schewe's Realworld CAMERA RAW CS4.
Very pleased. Les Fisher
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2009
I have bought a number of Martin's books over the years, from Adobe Photoshop For Photographers 7, through to the current CS4 version (which I also purchased at the same time). For me Martin has never failed to deliver and neither does `The Ultimate Workshop'.

The title `Ultimate' is perhaps overselling the content slightly and I advise any potential buyer to read the description by Amazon...

Quote:
Martin Evening and Jeff Schewe each describe in detail how to carry out some of their favorite Photoshop image editing and retouching techniques.

Do not expect the book to cover the extensive range of tools or available option in Photoshop (If that's more what you're looking for I recommend you take a look at Martin's `Adobe Photoshop CS4 For Photographers'), What the book does offer is an excellent insight and understanding into some alternative advanced techniques employed by both Martin and Jeff.

For me the book works on two levels. First, I thoroughly enjoyed working my way through the many demonstrations (most of the images used can be found on the accompanying DVD). Second, it presented me with new, alternative ways to employ advanced editing techniques I hadn't come across before.

The illustrations and photographs are top notch, the `lessons' are very descriptive and easy to follow and the examples and `tips' genuinely useful.

The content is excellent as is the quality of the paper it is printed on.

Accompanying DVD:
For me the accompanying DVD is an added bonus. As I mentioned earlier there are a number of photos on the DVD from which to try out the demonstrations at your own pace, there are several video demonstrations so you can exactly how Martin & Jeff use the techniques `live' and there are also a number of files in .pdf format.

The sound quality of the videos is not exactly `high definition audio' but I had no problems playing them back on my standard `Windows' system.

To those thinking of buying the book I would suggest you read the description, don't expect it to cover everything about Photoshop..... then buy the book!!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2009
Martin Evening and Jeff Schewe are two world class experts in Photoshop and both are accomplished photographers. This book is aimed at the serious photographer who wants top quality images - it covers the picture taking process as well as the processing in Photoshop and takes the whole subject to a fresh new level. The language is easy to understand and the whole book is simply inspirational.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 May 2009
This is one of the most valuable publications on Photoshop I have read. Its realistic understanding of the practical issues that all photographers have to face, builds a strong sense of confidence in the authors' integrity.

They have an all-encompassing grasp of the current photographic environment and are able to relate this understanding in a way that enables the photographer to fully exploit the potential of Photoshop. This ensures the book is especially relevant both to the enthusiastic amateur and the aspiring professional.

The layout and explanations are a model of clarity. The structure of the chapters is most effective and logical. They introduce the issues that affect the required quality,the practical creative processes and the challenges of meeting the needs of the art market. They do this in a way that shows a clear grasp of the demands placed on the photographer when producing images that are both relevant and innovative.

This book is the most effective, accessible and intelligent explanation of the photographic experience I have encountered. I can confidently say the term `Ultimate' in the title is not marketing hype.

I cannot praise this book enough and would highly recommend it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 July 2009
Martin and Jeff are both highly regarded professional photographers with a knowledge of Photoshop that most can only aspire to. Throughout this book they demonstrate their skills and knowledge of both Photoshop and Camera Raw. The written and video tutorials compliment each other well and should get even slowest learner up to speed very quickly.

The book is very well structured with chapters on: how to prepare for a shoot, in depth explanations of Camera Raw and Photoshop editing tools, retouching, blending, masks, composites and even printing.

A quick skim through Adobe Photoshop CS4 for Photographers: The Ultimate Workshop will give the impression that this book will benefit studio based photographers more than those who shoot landscape and nature. However, spend a little more time working through the excellent tutorials and it becomes apparent that the tips and techniques employed have their uses in all types of photography.

Other highly recommended Photoshop CS4 books by these authors are:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/0240521250/Adobe Photoshop CS4 for Photographers: A Professional Image Editor's Guide to the Creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC: A Professional Image ... Use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Real-World-Camera-Adobe-Photoshop/dp/0321580133/Real World Camera Raw with Adobe Photoshop CS4
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)