Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 June 2017
This a amazing book! It goes directly to the point, making it easy to understand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2013
A really lovely book filled with good information, spoiled by lazy typography; rivers run throughout it. I'd expect a keener eye for detail in a book about design. It's a shame, it has a lot of promise but lets itself down by with this aspect of laziness.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This book is an invaluable resource for any production designer. It talks about how to go about setting the style and look for animation.

This is a very practical book. While it talks on the production design process, it provides tons of examples from Disney's archive to support design concepts. There are many useful lessons, such as film analysis, visual development and research, camera rules, composition, staging and others.

There are also dedicated chapters to films where Hans Bacher talks specifically on how production design was done.

I bought this book primarily for the art but I've realised that there's more to all the art displayed. Many of the storyboards, while lacking details are visually strong because of the composition.

Every example included in the book serves to emphasis design concepts. The clear and simple explanation provides another perspective into looking at storyboards, into understanding what the scene means and how it contributes to the story.

This book is well worth the money, actually not just to production designers, but for every artist. The lessons taught are universal and can be applied in different fields if it's related to art.

Let me end with a quote from Andrea Deja, the Supervising Animator of Walt Disney Studios:

When it comes to color, composition and design, Hans is in a class by himself. Look through the pages of Dream Worlds and be inspired by Han's high standards and his art. It is a feast for the eyes.

Here's the list of chapters:

* Film Analysis
* Beauty and the Beast
* Visual Development and Research
* Aladdin
* Inspiration
* Camera Rules
* The Lion King
* Composition
* Hercules
* Staging and Formats
* Mulan
* Rhythm and Style Variety
* Lilo and Stitch
* Value and Color
* Brother Bear
* Unfinished Disney Projects
* Own Projects
* The Masters -- Bambi

There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2010
I've recently become interested in production design for animation and had no clue where to begin. This book is so very, very helpful - Bacher's art is beautiful, and his tips on staging, camera angles and the production method of animated films are invaluable. It's also fascinating to see work from the films he has worked on, with some great crowd pleasers such as The Lion King and Beauty and the Beast included (his work for Beauty and the Beast in particular - it looks better than the look in the final film in my opinion). The only criticism I have is that he mentions a lot of artists that he admires and influenced the look of the films he worked on, and it would have been nice to see some comparisons or just a few examples to show what he means. That said, it's a fantastic book which anyone even remotely interested in production design should read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2009
If you are into animation design then this is an excellent look into what it is about and what you need to look at. It won't tell you everything, but is a great introduction with some beautiful artwork!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2016
deadly, this book is unreal for anyone interested in storyboarding, animation or even childrens book design. Filled with vibrant pictures, inspiration, and loads of interesting point of view descriptions! g'wan get wan
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2012
Dream Worlds gave me a fascinating insight into the world of the animated movie production designer. As you might expect from a graphic artist of such high calibre, the book is beautifully laid out. The individual images are frequently striking, some of them good enough to be framed and hung on the wall.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
Fantastic book, with insights into the the animation industry by one of the greats, I can recommend this book for anyone who has an interest in storyboarding or animation. I keep going back to it again and again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
A must have book for those interested in Production Design, beautifully illustrated, beautifully written and inspiring. One of those books you will come back to again and again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse