Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
11
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 August 2017
I'm halfway through reading the book and thoroughly enjoying it. Valuable background information to anyone interested in the Pre-Raphaelites.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
This is a very good read about a lady with lots of insecurities. As the story unfolds, it is clear that she was not in the ideal company or environment to overcome her problems, but it is an excellent account of the life of someone with human flaws. The "supermodel" tag is perhaps a little unfair for someone who developed into a more than competent artist in her own right, but the overall account demonstrates that so many of today's problems, and particularly drug addiction, were also damaging lives in the 19th century. The relationship with Rossetti and his unwillingness to make a long-term commitment to Lizzie adds a great deal of poignancy to her troubled story.

This is a well told story, by an author who clearly knows her subject. It does not try to hide Lizzie's own faults but makes clear the trials inflicted on her by others, and does not attempt to be too judgemental. It is never less than interesting and offers an excellent insight into the lives of Lizzie and several of the Pre-Raphaelites. No happy ending, but an enthralling account of a very talented "celebrity" of her time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
Good readable biography, 25 years ago I wrote a Master's thesis on the Pre-Raephalites and this was a work that was definitely missing from the Pre-Raephalite cannon at the time. The book is readable rather than heavily academic > think it might be quite hard to follow with out a fairly good level of knowledge of the Pre-Raephs and their world before you start
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
This book is a page turner..I never really pictured this complicated talented person,and her tragic life clearly before now.This is a modern story in some ways,a story of class,addiction,celebrity and intense consuming love...This author has done her homework.Anyone who admires pre raphaelite art will I am sure,enjoy this book which breathes life into a period I find endlessly fascinating.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2015
A fascinating book examining the life of Lizzie Siddal. If your interested in the Pre- Raphaelites this is a book well worth reading I would recommend it to anyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2015
A very interesting read for anyone who enjoys this period. The origins of Lizzie and Rosetti's story are fascinating however my only criticism (more to do with the individuals themselves perhaps than the author) is that it became rather tedious that Lizzie kept calling Rosetti back to her with 'serious illness'. That said I would recommend this as an easy, interesting and well written introduction to Lizzie and the group around her.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
A fascinating insight into an extraordinary life of a London girl. A really good read. Highly recommended even if like me you are not au fait with the artists of this period.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
Bought as a gift for my friend who, like me, loves all things Pre-Raphaelite. Enjoying reading my own second-hand copy at the moment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2017
arrived in good order thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2015
Pre raphaelites new obsession. Have not read yet but am looking forward to doing so.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)