Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
60
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 May 2012
A book not to be rushed. I'm captivated by the wealth of helpful information, addressed in simple language, for anyone to easily follow.
I'm only just starting this book - watch this space...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
This is the best book I have read on contemplation. It is practical, clear and inspiring. I recommend it to anyone seeking guidance on prayer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
I have read other books on contemplative prayer and indeed, been trying to prayer contemplatively before reading this book, but Martin's explanations and metaphors have help take me to new, much deeper places in my prayer life , which have then affected my daily life as well. I would heartily recommend this book, but advise reading it in small chunks whilst actually trying out contemplative prayer for yourself. Many of Martin's explanations didn't make sense until I experienced them for myself in prayer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
What I have read so far is very enlightening and I am enjoying the book very much. I hope that the remainder will live up to my expectations.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
I would highly recommend this book to anyone exploring the practice of mindfulness from a Christian perspective. Simpl and yet profound.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2011
This is a truly lovely book outlining the history and practice of 'going into silence'. I will keep reading it over and over again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2011
This book is a very great help in the practice of prayer. It is too early for me to say much, since I am only a beginner!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
Martin laird has proved himself a truly great writer and spiritual teacher by producing this second superb Christian book . I enjoyed every line and was bitterly disappointed when the last line appeared .....Give us more of this sensible, practical spiritual rich food please Fr Martin . It s like reading pure Thomas Merton in the 21st century !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
Excellent and very practical for developing your relationship with God.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2015
Helpful and thoughtful book for those interested in contemplation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)