Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 16 November 2016
Really interesting book on gastronomy, not as simple as I had hoped but one to understand as you delve in
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2011
The instructions in cookery books are based on little more than "I tried this and it was nice, or that and it failed". They are imprecise, sometimes wrong, and without explanation of cause. This is different, and attempts to understand, explain and define some processes scientifically. As a non-scientist, I failed to understand parts of it, but most chapters contained a some explanations and conclusions I found very interesting and potentially useful for a cook, and could place far more confidence in them than in most other books on cooking.

If you are seeking a cook-book this is not for you. If you want to understand some of the processes involved and gain some useful tips buy it - you will learn and enjoy - but if you are not a scientist you may want to skim and read selectivly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2010
I got this for christmas and I really liked the short article format. It's a bit like the food version of the New Scientist 'last word' series of books. Informative without being too technical but this is not a recipe book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
Interesting read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
Bought this used and I am very happy with it. As a food technologist and product development specialist, I find it an enjoyable and interesting reference text and also for the odd moment of reading. A keeper.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
Hervè This is a Great Man and I wish I could practice something on food with him even for half day...Who knows! His approach inspires people. I never would have expected a senior gastronomer like him (talking in a video) about love trasmitted through the creation of dishes: you would expect him to talk all the way scientifically. "C'est la differance!"
This book is a nice approach to him and his works. I would probably love more working with him...but only because I'm practical person.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2012
this is one of the dullest food books i've ever encountered. i read a few chapters and had to put it down. i skimmed through the book and couldn't find anything in it that could be used practically or that tickled my interest. i'd skip this little tome; there are a lot of other -- and better -- books out there on this exciting approach to cooking and innovating.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
It is astonishing how what seems to be a small paperback can contain so many mind stretching subjects. I find the book outstanding.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
Waiting to hear from grandson, he seemed pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2015
A***
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)