Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 December 2014
This guy is sooo clever! Everyone should read his book!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
There are gems at every turn of the page.

There are stories to treasure in every chapter.

Fantastic storytelling with a predatory tale in everyone.

You must read this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
I feel compelled to respond to the person who gave this book one star "Read before you buy". *shakes head in disbelief*

I discovered Dave Trott's previous book, "Creative Mischief" by complete accident last year. I was blissfully unaware who Dave Trott was and is - a legend in the field of advertising. Much of his work will be familiar to most of the population without them realising it.

Dave's story on page 5 of "Creative Mischief" is worth the money on its own. I laughed so much, I honked and oinked simultaneously, because the punchline came at exactly the right time.

Mr "Read before you buy" misses the point totally. Dave's writing is beautifully nuanced with subtlety.

Anecdotes, yes. But each one is perfectly crafted to illustrate a human truth or truths.

The best storytellers set up their stories by introducing seemingly unrelated strands, then expertly weaving them together so that their connection to each other is obvious.

Dave Trott is a master storyteller. He illustrates his points beautifully, providing cogent insights. His short, crisp, writing style brings extreme clarity and focus to his subject.

Each chapter - of around three pages each - works on numerous different levels.

Dave has spent nigh on four decades in the ad business and with "Predatory Thinking" and "Creative Mischief", he distills the wisdom he has gained into bite-size pieces that both entertain and educate.

Dave is arguably the most revered person in his industry - his insights are absolute gold dust.

If you want to be entertained and educated, please, please read his wonderful books.

Five stars are not enough. Should be at least ten!

Many thanks, Dave, for your wisdom.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
This is a great read from a great Copywriter and Creative Director. It really cheered me up, inspired me and gave me lots of things to think about for my creative future. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
I enjoyed the book immensely, read it from start to finish without putting it down. To all the arm chair generals & haters ... What was the last book you wrote and published?!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
Beautifully written and hugely thought-provoking. I read an extract from the book in the Guardian and ordered it right away as it is so engaging. A thoroughly good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
Dave Trott has a unique style of writing. Sometimes his short one-line sentences can become irritating; although the content remains excellent - and thought provoking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
Great read. I enjoyed this book a lot. I was inspired by Dave from his speech at a digital conference. If you are interested in creativity, this is a must read book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
Wonderful bite-sized anecdotes from the world of advertising and thoughts on life on a much broader level. Provocative and practically useful in equal measure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
What can I say? The most wisdom-per-page of any book on advertising I've come across. Entertaining, approachable and rewarding read even for non ad people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)