Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 25 November 2012
This is the 2013 Edition of our favourite astronomical almanac; as always edited by Sir Patrick Moore. Here is a detailed description of the contents:

1. The usual star charts drawn for +52N (London) and -35S (Cape Town, Sydney) latitudes.

2. A few pages about "The Planets and the Ecliptic", "Phases of the Moon in 2013", "Longitudes of the Sun, Moon and Planets in 2013" and "Some Events in 2013".

3. The observer's monthly notes (January to December) enriched as always with additional scientific and historical notes that are hard to find elsewhere:

January: A Serendipitous Discovery (Galileo's observations of Neptune), Oppositions of the Planets
February: Asteroid's Near Miss (Asteroid 2012 DA14 2013 close approach), A Remarkable Procession of Meteors (1913 Canada fireballs), The Power of the Naked Eye
March: A Naked Eye Comet (Comet C/2011 L4), The Old Moon in the New Moon's Arms, Ursa Major - the Great Bear
April: Goodbye to Orion, The Meaning of Magnitude
May: The Sooty Star (R Coronae Borealis), The Earliest British Amateur Astronomer
June: 47 Tucanae, Seeing Stars from the Bottom of a Well
July: The Star in the Indian Bowl (1054 Supernova), The Hunt for Phobus (Russian space probe)
August: The Celestial Harp (Lyra), The Mysterious Nova (Barnard's nova?)
September: The Loveliest Double Star (Albireo), The Baroness and the Supernova (S Andromedae)
October: Transferred Stars (Celestial cartography), The Far Side of the Moon
November: A Most Unusual Solar Eclipse, The Equatorial Sky
December: The Moon Illusion, Zeta Phoenicis

4. A few pages about "Eclipses in 2013", "Occultations in 2013", "Comets in 2013", "Minor Planets in 2013", "Meteors in 2013" and "Some Events in 2014".

5. The "Article Section" that comes in handy when it's cloudy out there! The articles are the following:
ALMA: The World's Most Complex Telescope
The Dawn Asteroid Mission
Digital Meteor Imaging
Will Hay: Entertainer and Amateur Astronomer
The Supernova That Won't Go Away
The Lescarbault Legacy
Touring the Subatomic Universe
Storms on Saturn
Johannes Hevelius (1611-1687): Instrument Maker, Lunar Cartographer and Surveyor of the Heavens

6. A few pages about "Some Interesting Variable Stars", "Mira Stars: Maxima, 2013", "Some Interesting Double Stars", "Some Interesting Nebulae, Clusters and Galaxies" and a list of "Astronomical Societies in the British Isles".

Once again, 5 stars. Although it lacks the eye candy of most modern day "astronomy books", this one has superb content and is written by the best writers on the subject.

UPDATE: It is sad to hear the loss of Britain's greatest amateur astronomer. Thank you Sir for the beautiful voyage through the starry skies of our world...
11 Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2012
This book is obviously a factory reject or 'seconds'. Two of the pages in the middle are ripped in half and the cover is generally marked and tatty. It is not 'new' condition as the advert states. I now have to find an alternative christmas present.Not happy!
33 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 November 2012
I ordered this book in summer and so only paid £10, which is excellent value. This latest issue is in the usual format, and full of interest. I did spot a few errors - Ceres is not 27.7 AU from the Sun (p205), and only 24 men have seen the back of the Moon, not 27, because three men flew on two of the nine Apollos to visit the Moon. Also, one writer refers to a "one pence piece" instead of simply saying a penny - there is no such thing as a pence!

Despite that, it is highly recommended.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2013
Having never purchased one of these yearbooks I finally gave in this year and paid £10 for it. I must say, waste of £10, in my opinion. Very little detail in the monthly guides, and lists of objects to see are available on the net if you search a bit.

Articles didn't really interest me all that much. If you're interested in that kind of thing, might make you think/believe that the price is justified.

The book itself is nicely laid out. Looks good, quite big for the money. However, charts can be hard to keep open in a bulky book - definitely not one for the field.

Won't be buying another, not really my thing. I suspect this will either get sold pretty soon or gather dust - as it has for a while now. Other avenues which are free or cheaper can offer a lot more. Say, Sky at Night magazine when on special offer.

Who would buy this book? Someone who has always bought it. Someone who is a fan of Patrick Moore (although many of his other works are more detailed and better). If you're new to astronomy, or looking for a detailed guide of what to see monthly in the year, look elsewhere. If you're a loyal fan, then you'll snap it up.

Alas, I shall not be buying another of these yearbooks.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 October 2013
didn't what to get the brother-in-law for Christmas, got this as part of Christmas prezzy, he has just got into astrology and he loved it
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 January 2013
The 2013 edition of the always excellent Yearbook of Astronomy contains the usual starcharts for the northern and southern hemispheres, monthly notes, phases of the moon as well as information on minor planets, comets, meteors and other astronomical events for the year ahead. There is also a fine eclectic selection of longer, previously unpublished articles which include, amongst others such topics as; "ALMA: The world's most complex telescope", "The Dawn asteroid mission", "Storms on Saturn" and "Touring the subatomic universe".

One notable omission - its discovery presumably coming too late for inclusion in this publication - is the comet Ison but other than that this seems pretty flawless as usual.

A fitting tribute to the great man, let's hope that all future editions maintain this highest of standards.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2013
The late great Sir Patrick Moore has put his name to this volume for many years and I hope it continues. Only available in hardback does make it a little less handy as a reference book. The articles (and there are 9) can be read at any time and are not year dependent. The list of astronomical societies around the country is an invaluable (if sometimes slightly wrong) resource not easily available elsewhere.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 March 2014
This was bought as a gift for a friend, a they were very please! I'm not an astronomer myself, so I can't really speak to its reliability or accuracy, or even usefulness, but it looked to me like a great book, with good detail well presented, and was very much enjoyed by the recipient - makes a great gift!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 April 2014
I think, that I bought an excellent book, that I expected to be in advance. I bought a lot of books, many of them of different topics,
so I cannot Review all of them within a short time according they deserve it. So I will judge them as excellent and keep this written comment short.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 May 2013
Its a pity that this will be the last like this to feature Patricks name. I have bought this series of books for a number of years now. It has fuelled my love of astronomy to the point where I have built my own observatory in my garden. I do hope the publishers will keep on producing this very handy guide.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)