Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
136
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 July 2012
I have recently finished reading this book on my Kindle and once I started I could not put it down.

I have started several businesses myself with the aim of starting them on a budget so this book was right up my street and it did not disappoint.

It was great to read about other peoples experiences of starting a business and hearing how they did it without spending hardly any money to get things up and running.

If you are thinking about starting a business, especially an online business then you need to give this book a read.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2012
business looks like a very scary concept for people in suits. This book breaks it down and opens the world to many possibilities to anyone who has an idea, determination and as the title suggests a not so large sum to start out. Read this book from page to page with pure enjoyment and its a fantastic read. Highly recommend anyone who is looking to start out and needs some inspiration
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2012
This is an excellent book for those people who are considering setting up their own business but don't think they can afford to. While not all the examples started with $100 most of them did and the rest started with less than $1000. Considering what $100 in pounds these days then that's not bad going.

The book provides lots of great examples - all of which are people who started with little and made excellent profits - and keep on making them. There are some useful checklists and worksheets throughout the book to take you through the start up process and despite the title uses examples from all over the world so this book is relevant to everyone.

For this price I'd definitely say buy it. It's an interesting book which you can dip into when you need to, with all the worksheets also available on line.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
Excellent inspiration, I love it! If you are looking for a step by step how-to book then there are better books out there. There is some how-to but as every person's start up will be different, there's a limit to how detailed the guidance can be on that. The strength of this book is that it shows you how easy it can be to create a successful start up these days, if you make value and service the leading principle. There are lots of stories about what other people have done that are designed to make you sit up and think, 'Hey, I could do something like that!' and trigger ideas for your own start up. It shows you that the people doing this are not all budding Richard Bransons, they are just like you and so there are no real barriers to do you doing what they have done- not even lack of start up budget which has always been my excuse. Not any more. Great book, Mr Guillebeau.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
I was quite disappointed by this book, the author does not go into any relevant detail in the case studies and honestly I have serious doubt as to whether the majority of the companies he has studied will still exist in a few years time.

The author does provide a few insights but these are mostly relevant for a very specific kind of startup where someone tries to sell knowledge or information online. (Basically businesses identical to the one the author is running himself, selling this and other books and manuals.)

I felt like he had little to sell except for the idea that he was selling something.

I would recommend reading So good they cant ignore you by Cal Newport instead, or at least reading both books.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
While I have found it interesting I am not convinced you can start all projects for $100 . For Instance a pop up mattress shop . will require a deposit for rent, electric transport paying for stock etc. unless you are a very smooth talker, so a little misleading.

But maybee I am just one of those dreamer guys a real go getter could make it work?

I am afraid I like realisim and maybee a plan on how it actually done
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2012
I've followed Chris Guillebau's blog for a while now and The 100$ Startup is the best writing he has done so far. It's written in an uplifting tone without technical jargon or superfluous material.

The book is crammed with practical information on how to launch a small company. There is an abundance of insights and ideas, all backed up by countless stories from everyday people, who have successfully launched their own companies without massive loans, intricate business plans or years of planning. Chris stresses the importance of starting small and testing ones ideas on the market.

The book is more concise than the Art of Non-Conformity, The (Guillebeau's previous book). The book is not aimed at a specific field, but has general advice on how to develop and refine valuable businesses. There is a big section devoted to product launches and creating sustainable value for customers. The book is very sincere and promotes a philosophy of increasing freedom to lead the lives we want. It has deeply inspired me and I look forward to apply the many ideas to my own company. 5/5
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
The $100 Startup: Fire Your Boss, Do What You Love and Work Better to Live More
This is an inspirational read. I have a MBA, but have always struggled when thinking about setting up my own business, perhaps its a case of over-analysing and worrying too much about the practicalities, but there always seems to be a reason NOT to do it. This book is well written in a simple,straight forward style, and gives lots of examples of how individuals have gone their own way in life and made a success of there ideas. The whole tone of the book is upbeat and positive, and personally I found it opened my eyes to what might be possible. Very strongly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2012
Chris has rounded up some of the best advice out there for starting your first business. It's nice to have someone relate these things in to terms that your average Joe can understand and implement. Important topics such as finding a crossover between passion and something people will be willing to pay for are covered and the expansive use of case studies, although brief in their nature, really serves well to illustrate the point and encourage others to do the same through an attitude of "if they can do it, then why can't I?"
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"Better is a little with righteousness,
Than vast revenues without justice." -- Proverbs 16:8 (NKJV)

The book's title is probably what attracted you. That was true for me, as well. While it's possible to start a business for $100 (I started my first one for $12), the bulk of those studied by Chris Guillebeau spent between $100 and $600. The point is to start small, experiment, and stick to low-cost methods. You will probably be surprised by how little the book actually has to say about how to keep investment costs down in other ways. That's because the book is mostly focused on personal services, professional services, and selling information products. These kinds of businesses are more marketing than investment intensive.

Because of his love for travel, the book is also filled with the notion of using the freedom that a business can bring to move around and enjoy a better lifestyle. That, too, is true of entrepreneurship kept in perspective.

The book's great strength is in lots of information about low-cost ways to acquire and make more profits from customers. It's one of the best small business marketing books I've read. I intend to recommend it to my adult education classes.

The book is also helpful in providing a lot of success stories. If you are looking for ways to copy those success stories, you won't find the details here. You'll have to track down the entrepreneurs and ask them your questions directly.

Although the book displays a strong counter-culture flavor, the advice is pretty much traditional business 101, except scaled for a start-up person with limited business experience.

If your weakness in starting a business is marketing, you will find this book valuable.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)