Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
38
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 March 2017
arrived on time
great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
Great.met expectations.Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 25 April 2013
Another one for you Scandinavian crime fiction fans from the consistently superb Hakan Nesser. The Weeping Girl sees ex-Chief Inspector Van Veeteren's protege DI Ewa Moreno take the reins in this intriguing investigation, following the time honoured tradition of crime fiction protagonists unable to take a holiday without being immersed in a murder mystery...

It's always difficult I would think to introduce a convincing new character from the shadows of such a compelling figure as Van Veeteren who has been at the heart of Nesser's previous books, but he achieves this with aplomb. Using Van Veeteren as her point of reference in her machinations of this perplexing case, his voice can still be heard loud and clear, and Moreno soon proves herself to be an able protege of the now retired detective. Moreno is an assured combination of dedicated and compassionate police officer, cut through with the normal doubts of a woman in the throes of a new relationship with..well...in Moreno's words `bloke/lover/stallion'. This is indicative of the humour that cuts through the plot with Moreno as queen of the apt aside to relieve the tension of this disturbing case, and as in Nesser's previous books, these forays into the realm of humour are balanced perfectly. The characterisation is excellent throughout, with Moreno clashing horns with the utterly inept, and `stiff-collared pain in the neck' local police chief Vrommel, but finds an ally in the charming and intuitive detective Vegesack, who more than proves his worth in terms of his dogged determination to get to the bottom of this case taking some degree of delight in ticking off his boss.

The plot mores than support Nesser's assured characterisation, opening with a young girl's mission to talk to her father having discovered his true identity on her eighteenth birthday. The only kink in her plan is that he is a murderer, incarcerated in a psychiatric unit, having been accused of killing a teenage girl some years previously. However, after meeting her father she disappears and so the intrigue begins. Moving fluidly between the earlier events leading to her father's incarceration, and the real-time investigation of her disappearance with the unveiling of dark family secrets, Nesser effortlessly leads us through the case, with his trademark attention to procedural detail. Admittedly stalwart crime readers may cotton on to how the plot will play out but, bolstered by the fine characterisation and a cameo appearance by the great Van Veeteren himself, there is more than enough to satisfy the reader and I have no qualms in recommending this as a good read overall.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2013
This is what crime fiction should be - intriguing plot, well-drawn range of characters and unpredictable. One of the best crime books I've read recently.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
Nesser always delivers. His series featuring Chief Inspector Van Veeteren (although presently more or less retired and running a bookshop) always leaves me impatiently waiting for the next book to be published in the UK. There are several strands to the story which includes an old murder, madness and disappearances, not to mention a paedophile police officer, and enough twists and turns to keep the reader intrigued. If you have'nt tried this author I cannot recommend him highly enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2017
A woman police inspector looks forward to a restful holiday by the sea. How wrong-she is drawn into a complex murder mystery with many layers. In-depth look at the characters involved, especially detective inspector Ewa Moreno, and the dark secrets of a quiet community. Surprisingly, Van Veeteren is almost entirely absent except as an ever-present What would the Chief Inspector do? Unlike some previous novels, the pace and energy was maintained.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
I love the ambiguity of Nesser locations, you assume you are in The Netherlands then something incongruous pops up and sends you guessing. It could irritate but is doesn't and sort of empahsisie that 'the story is the thing'.

An interesting and intiguing tale well told

I am intrigue as to why every European Detective is at the rank of Inspector do they not have constables and sergeants?
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
Having really enjoyed the previous books, I was unsure how this story would proceed without the great VV in the driving seat. Moreno becomes involved in a case whilst on holiday and as such is not directly responsible for it. The plot is well crafted and the ending not as I had expected .VV makes a guest appearance which was a bonus. I found it interesting and enjoyable and finished the book fairly quickly. I preferred this book to the previous one in the series.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
This is my second Nesser book and I thoroughly enjoyed it. However I found the ending a little disappointing and predictable, as though he didn't know where to take the story and he rushed the finish. I preferred the Stranglers Honeymoon. However I would recommend it and am trying to decide which book in the series to read next
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
The story itself was good, although not top class. The translation left a lot to be desired and made for a stilted, awkward read. Phrases were mangled, emotions subdued and generally took the edge off the book. Would read this author again, but will check the translator first!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse