Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
28
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 October 2013
These are two adventures in the truest sense of the word. One chronologically follows the other and are probably the beginning of all that we have come to know and love about Bear Grylls! Both take place during his twenties, after he left the SAS due to injuries sustained during a parachuting accident. The first, an unlikely attempt to reach the summit of Everest, the second, an amazing journey in a rigid hulled inflatable boat to try to cross the Arctic Atlantic Ocean.

I could not put this book down. It is humorous and compelling and you feel that you are almost there with him.The books keep you on the edge of your seat almost all the time, waiting to see if the end result is success or failure!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
I have just finished reading this book took me a couple of days. I must say that I am impressed by the way the two adventures are written. The Everest climb story the better of the two. He claims to have been in the SAS at the age of 18 yrs. The TA ?? I think going back to my military days you had to have served at least a couple of years with a regiment to even be considered for the entrance application. I may be wrong. Anyway overall I enjoyed the book a great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
What an amazing book. To read what Bear and his friends went through on Everest and in the Arctic is incredible. Man's resilience and determination really show through, though it is certainly a testament to Bear and his friends that their strength, faith, determination and luck helped them on their journeys. Most highly recommended, occasionally nail biting and very difficult to put down!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
I am a twelve years old girl and I love animal documentaries.
I really love Bear Grylls' book and this is the second one I've read. I love learning about all his experiences and would recommend this book for both kids over ten and adults who are interested in Mt Everest and sailing. LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2015
brilliant read, felt i was there every-step of the way, the strange thing was, when reading this my hands and feet were actually freezing cold,
My deepest sympathy to all those brave men and women who lost there life's on the biggest mountain on the planet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
Bear is a brave man. His candid style is refreshing; he is not afraid to be self deprecating, nor to heap praise on each member of his team. Both books-in-one are a gripping read, and I thoroughly enjoyed them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
Incredible, great story of adventure and humility and the desire to follow ones dreams in life rather than be sucked into the treadmill of life as most people do
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2015
excellent read. So well written you feel as if you are taking part in the adventures.Quite scary!Have now bought more for christmas presents.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
Written with passion and humility. Excitement from start to finish. I couldn't put this book down. Can't wait to read more of his books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
Gripping drama with inspirational feats of achievement. I bought this for the Everest story but enjoyed the boat crossing just as much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)