Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
10
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 May 2017
Great product and service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2011
It would have been easy to fall into the trap off making this 80th birthday biography a hagiography - but veteran South African journalist Allister Sparks is too wily to make that kind of mistake. So this is a warts and all portrait of a good man: elegantly written and an absorbing read. The photos are good too, as are the tributes from all and sundry, but it's the biography itself that is the core of the book and which make it well worth reading.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2011
Archbishop Emeritus Desmond Tutu, a very long standing and most dear octagenarian friend of mine, launched this book in Capetown on his 80th birthday, 7 October, 2011. Journalist Allister Sparks has written this book in conjunction with his daughter Mpho, an ordained priest. The Book 'The Authorised Portrait' is an interesting and insightful collection of contributions about the Archbishop's life and times based on interviews and submitted articles, both from people known and unknown. This serves to build on his own reflections on life in South Africa and elsewhere, such as in London when, in 1963, he became a young curate at my Church - St Alban the Martyr, Golders Green and first known to me.

While many have contributed in the book to his remarkable story, including myself, the overall picture that is skillfully and energetically built up by the joint editors is a better understanding of a strongly religious and justice oriented man that operates both in world of man and God. As I state in my own personal reflection in the book, this is a man with a spirituality and sense of conviction for what is right and just, providing him with a unique direct hotline to God! And of course throughout the reader will sense the sheer fun and excitement of Desmond Tutu, never afraid or too tactful to say what needs to be said.

As the Arch gets older, there seems ever more to say about this remarkable man of God. This book is an admitted tome of a tribute, but also constitutes a fascinating read for just dipping into the thoughts and impressions of Bono, Barack Obama,the Dalai Lama and so many others at random.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2012
Excellent biography of this amazing man with beautiful photography and commentary by many worldwide figures who knew and worked with him during and after the apartheid years. His Christian faith its roots and motivation are not ignored so that a convincing picture of the whole man and his achievements emerges triumphantly. My book of the year for 2011.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2016
I was disappointed that this book was a tabletop book as I had read it on a kindle. The content is really interesting and tells of Mandela, and Tutu and the group of 12 formed by Richard Branson and Bono - who were all peacemakers. It also tells of the transition after apartheid. Great table book or Kindle book - for reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
This is a beautifully presented book about a great man. The format is beautiful and the narrative helped me learn much about Dr Tutu's struggles.
Amazon was amazing; I received the book in less than a week here in Canada and the total was less than if I had purchased it when in UK in August.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2012
An amazing man, an amazing life. brings to life the adversity that this man and others like him in SA endured to bring freedom from oppression and highlights the important role of the church in enabling this to happen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2016
Be aware that this is a very large coffee table book. I bought it to take on my holidays... Can't fit it in my hand luggage. :-(
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2011
Over the last twenty or more years this man has fought on many fronts for his countrymen and fellow Christians and other religions.
Harmony and music has enabled him to reach out to all mankind both in his homeland and accross the world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2015
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)