Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 August 2016
I confess I hadn't noticed the continuity problems that others spotted - and they are substantial! This is slightly odd, as I read all five of the books after I'd seen that 'All Change' had been released in paperback (realising that to get the full 'hit' I'd need to read them all, in order). So the continuity lapses didn't bother me. Although it is very much a family saga, so much is going on in the present (the book's present, that is) that perhaps a nonagenarian author can be forgiven for forgetting some details. As others have said - less easy to forgive is an editor who let these things slip by. But then, are there even editors any more?

I found the book a fine conclusion to the series. The story of the Cazalets, across five books, is akin to the story of Widmerpool in 'A Dance to the Music of Time', across 12: a classic. Read them all!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
“All Change” is the fifth and final book in the Cazalet chronicles. It is the 1950’s and the last of a generation dies. As the Duchy dies, she takes with it memories of a world that will never be seen again. A world of large country houses, servants and class division.
The children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren are in a world where financial security can no longer be guaranteed and sacrifices have to be made. The 3 sons, now in their sixties are struggling to find their place in this rapidly changing world whilst their children are living increasingly modern lives – a world where women are not tied to the home but free to balance their ambitions with the roles of being a wife and a mother.
However, it is Rachel who faces the biggest challenge of the 4 Cazalet children. Having lived her life for others and never had a job or done anything for herself – how will she fare when she finds herself alone in the world – a world that she has never really participated in because she has always been too busy being there for others.
As usual, Elizabeth Jane Howard doesn’t disappoint, it is such a shame that this will be the final book in what has been an amazing and ever so enjoyable series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2014
This book is rather disappointing. I thoroughly enjoyed the other four in the series but this is of inferior literary quality. It is less well structured and leaves the reader feeling that the author was tired and eager to complete the book. The characterisation is below par in that there is little development that is not cliched. A series of short jerky chapters which presumably is intended to indicate pace simply comes over as superficial. This is furthered by the fact that the more interesting characters have died! Without doubt a book too far.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
The Cazalet Chronicles are in five books, starting before the 2nd World War and finishing well after it. I am now up to book four, and they are truly addictive. I will be very disappointed when I finally finish the fifth. It is so well written that you really get to know and are involved in all their troubles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
The book illustrates how after the second world war those who had been in very privileged lives had to move forward and adapt to very different situations some more easily than others. The characters were believable with some being more likeable than others. In all loose ends were tied up with issues being raised from the very first chronicle through to this fifth book. Thoroughly enjoyed them all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
I adored these Cazalet books and found myself falling in and out of love with many of the characters as the saga unfolded.As in real life, some things were left unresolved.I waited in vain for Edward to face up to the consequences of his assaults on his daughter and worried about Hugh in the final pages of the last volume. Sad say good-bye .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2015
Part five of an absorbing series partly depicting the rapid social changes brought about with the event of World War 2 and the consequences it had on the existing " class system " particularly on those who were members who , through success in trade , had become part of a "privileged class " prior to that war .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
Disappointing. I felt the author was just going through the motions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
The best yet. All the story lines tied up very neatly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse