Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
14
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 24 August 2009
Ernest is an exceptional moose, both exceptionally drawn in Rayner's free flowing lines, and exceptionally determined. He is also so large that he can't fit inside the book, but he isn't going to give up. And you can be sure that, with his trusty chipmunk friend, by the end of the story Ernest will be in the book - but how? It's a novel and surprising end which my children loved.
Brilliantly told in only seventeen short sentences, and with such striking artwork, this light-hearted book will amuse both preschoolers and their grown-ups. A cracker!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2012
I bought this book due to a recommendation from a friend. It is not only a wonderful story but has masses of learning opportunities for children. The text is fun and easy to follow but has many chances for children to explore language through alliteration. My children enjoyed guessing what would happen to Ernest at the end. It also has mathematical possibilities through measuring and size which children would love to explore. This book is wonderful and I recommend it to everyone from Early Years up to the end of key stage 1.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 6 August 2013
Ernest is a very large moose who can't fit into his book, until his small friend the chipmunk has a brain wave ... The book is superbly bold - more a concept than anything, with minimal text and very humorous, endearing illustrations. It is ideal for young children who I'm sure would be delighted to see the whole of Ernest at the end. It's a bit like suddenly seeing the Shard or the Nat West building up close for the first time, emerging to a place where you have an unblocked view of the whole building.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2010
Lovely concept and beautifully illustrated, although we would have liked a name for Ernest's little friend!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2011
This is a lovely book. The story is very short and it has a bit of a surprise at the end. My 3 year old son loves reading it again and again even though he knows what happens at the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2012
Fantastic book, my 4 year old absolutely loves it! We also bought this for our little friend's birthday and it also became his favourite book. I would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2015
Love Catherine Rayners books. They are my default gifts for little ones as the illustrations are beautiful as well as the stories being well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2015
My son loves reading this book his name is also Ernest so he thinks it's very funny as he doesn't fit in the book either - great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2011
A really lovely book. I bought it for my young nephew and there is a magical surprise at the end of the book which is very inventive!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
My daughter loved it, a well thought out book to read. Illustrations are beautiful. This author clearly understands children
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£6.99
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here